The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   R1 (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/105388-r1.html)

genetoy71 Sat Apr 17, 2021 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera (Post 1042882)
Example:
They cannot come over to complain about ball handling.
They *can* come over to discuss if you allowed a back row player to illegally attack in the front zone, if you said it was legal.

In other words...this should almost never happen.

So you're going to let a coach approach the stand and ask you about a back row attack AFTER you signaled legal? Not me. That's judgement.

bob jenkins Sat Apr 17, 2021 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1042923)
So you're going to let a coach approach the stand and ask you about a back row attack AFTER you signaled legal? Not me. That's judgement.

It might (would) depend on why you said it was legal. "The ball was below the height of the net" -- sure, don't let the coach come over.

"It wasn't a third hit and the player didn't mean to hit it over so it can't be an attack" -- sure, the coach gets to come over.

And, yes, it's a little convoluted given the specific example given. But, the point is accurate.

genetoy71 Sun Apr 18, 2021 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1042925)
It might (would) depend on why you said it was legal. "The ball was below the height of the net" -- sure, don't let the coach come over.

"It wasn't a third hit and the player didn't mean to hit it over so it can't be an attack" -- sure, the coach gets to come over.

And, yes, it's a little convoluted given the specific example given. But, the point is accurate.

But intent of the back row player doesn't matter. Only ball position relative to the height of the net and player position relative to the attack line matter. If a back row player didn't mean to attack but she attacked according to the rules then it is still an attack.

bob jenkins Sun Apr 18, 2021 07:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1042929)
But intent of the back row player doesn't matter. Only ball position relative to the height of the net and player position relative to the attack line matter. If a back row player didn't mean to attack but she attacked according to the rules then it is still an attack.

I know the rule. You know the rule. Felix knows the rule.

The hypothetical referee or coach in this thread might NOT know the rule. One or the other might make that statement.

If it's the referee, the coach has the right to protest to get the rule right. If it's the coach, s/he's still protesting about a rule--and will lose the protest and lose the TO (and if s/he has already used the two TOs will get a delay sanction).

FMadera Sun Apr 18, 2021 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1042923)
So you're going to let a coach approach the stand and ask you about a back row attack AFTER you signaled legal? Not me. That's judgement.

No, I meant as in saying that something that is illegal to do was legal to do, when it is not.

FMadera Mon Apr 19, 2021 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1042929)
But intent of the back row player doesn't matter. Only ball position relative to the height of the net and player position relative to the attack line matter. If a back row player didn't mean to attack but she attacked according to the rules then it is still an attack.

If a coach wanted to protest that intent mattered, that would be a valid protest.

They'd lose, but since it's a question of correct/incorrect interpretation of the rule (and not judgement), it would be an allowable protest.

Judging ball height would absolutely not be grounds for a protest.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1