The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 19, 2020, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 88
Serve during lineup check

NFHS.

24-23 game. 23 serving. Coach calls a lineup check and the downref comes into court and starts it. A good 10 seconds later, the other team serves the ball. Is this not a penalty??? We yelled (of course) and upRef replies to audience w “he’s doing a lineup check”. Well you can’t errantly serve without the upRef making that call to the server, right??? Ended up losing the set.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 19, 2020, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 88
Found it

9.2.5e Serve is illegal when.... deliberately serves before whistle.

Should have been the match point and game over. Fans are very mad. Lol
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 19, 2020, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,254
99% of the time it's not "deliberate" and we just start over (after the line-up check is complete).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 19, 2020, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 88
Can you define what you would call “deliberate”? The server deliberately tossed the ball, and struck it as a serve intentionally. So maybe I’m not following on a deliberate serve. It looked exactly like her other serves.

What’s a scenario where you would call the illegal serve due to it being deliberate?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,254
Being fully aware that R1 had not authorized the serve and choosing to serve anyway, often with an unsporting intent
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
NFHS.

24-23 game. 23 serving. Coach calls a lineup check and the downref comes into court and starts it. A good 10 seconds later, the other team serves the ball. Is this not a penalty??? We yelled (of course) and upRef replies to audience w “he’s doing a lineup check”. Well you can’t errantly serve without the upRef making that call to the server, right??? Ended up losing the set.

It sounds like you had quite an officiating crew - an R1 interacting with the crowd and an R2 not ready for the serve. R2 should have been ready for serve and watching the receiving team. He or she should have already known whether their alignment was going to be legal at the point of serve contact. It sounds like the receiving team perhaps was out of timeouts and just called the lineup check to "ice" the server and get set point. R2 should not have allowed this to happen. If receiving team alignment was legal, just tell the coach or captain "you're good" immediately upon receiving the request and give the court to the R1. If receiving team alignment was not going to be legal, fix it QUICKLY and give the court back to R1.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 22, 2020, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 619
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Can you define what you would call “deliberate”? The server deliberately tossed the ball, and struck it as a serve intentionally. So maybe I’m not following on a deliberate serve. It looked exactly like her other serves.

What’s a scenario where you would call the illegal serve due to it being deliberate?
Seeing as how there was a whistle in all likelihood due to the lineup check, and knowing players rarely look at the beckon for serve (and only listen for the whistle), and seeing as how you're probably referring to junior high players at this time of year, you're going to have to show me WAY more intent than this. Player likely thought the lineup check whistle was for serve. There's zero here showing the player knew there was no whistle for serve and served it anyway, which is the intent of the "deliberate" wording.

Blow the whistle to stop play, remind the player you haven't blown the whistle for serve, that the whistle was for the lineup check, and get that all done so we can play again.

And tell your mad fans to stop trying to win on cheap technicalities.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2020, 06:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 114
What Felix said....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumbled Serve bob jenkins Volleyball 8 Tue Sep 26, 2017 01:53pm
Mishap on serve Zoochy Volleyball 2 Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:09pm
What is in your head when the serve is hit? bbodb Volleyball 1 Sun Aug 29, 2010 06:35am
Re-serve DaveASA/FED Volleyball 5 Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:08am
Coah asks for line up check after whistle to serve is blown officialtony Volleyball 4 Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1