The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   A1 Reaching UNDER Net (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/104737-a1-reaching-under-net.html)

FMadera Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1034642)
Section 9.6 deals with Net Play generally and not Over the Net specifically. Rule 9.6.3 covers contacting a ball that is completely on the opponent's side and doesn't contain a reference as to the height of the ball. I believe the correct sequence would be whistle, award point to Team B, Signal 6 (Net Fault) against Team A. Team A coach may not like the call but Team B coach is certainly not going to like it if you do not call it.

You would not signal net fault for something on the opponent's side of the net. You would signal reaching over, which is another reason you can't cite this rule in the original situation.

But hey, in your match, you do whatever you want.

chapmaja Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera (Post 1034645)
You would not signal net fault for something on the opponent's side of the net. You would signal reaching over, which is another reason you can't cite this rule in the original situation.

But hey, in your match, you do whatever you want.

The correct signal in this case would be "reaching over".

That signal, as stated in the officials manual (2016-2017) is to be used when

* A player illegally contacts a ball which is completely on the opponents side of the net
* Contacts an opponent over the top of the net.


So yes, even though the contact occurred below the net, the ball was still illegally contacted on the opponents side of the net. The correct signal is "over the net". I would then expect have an explanation as to what was witnessed for the captain who is very likely to question the call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1