The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2017, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1 View Post
I have discussed this scenario with many officials (Nationals of both PAVO and USAV) and seem to have a conflict of proper ruling.

Back row setter Team A (BRSA) is standing next to a Front Row Player Team A (FRPA) at the net with her hands near her head but not above the net. The ball comes from her side A (an overpass) and goes into the plain of the net with no one from Team A making a play on the ball. BRSA does not jump so her hands stay below the net on this play. The legal front row player from Team B attacks the ball once it gets into the net (so no reaching over). The FRPA goes up to block the attack and either she blocks the ball from Player B or the ball hits the BRSA who is standing next to her close to the net with her hands up near her head.

Do we have a back row block on team A if ball hits either the FRPA blocking the ball or the BRSA just standing next to her at the net as this should be called a collective block?

Or do we have a legal block (and 3 more possible hits by Team A) if it hits only FRPA and only 2 hits left for Team A if ball hits BRSA just standing there as this would be team's first contact?

I am getting differences of opinion and ruling from many officials on this.

Just curious what everyone thinks and has been taught on this.
To be any kind of a block, the ball must be deflected as it is coming from the opponent and the ball must be completely above the height of the net when it is contacted. Just because the setter is standing next to someone or because her hands are "up near her head" doesn't make her part of a block.

If FRPA does contact the ball and it constitutes a block then Team A has three contacts remaining. If BRSA contacts the ball then it would be either an illegal block or a legal contact. If a legal contact then Team A would have two contacts remaining.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block benbret Volleyball 6 Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:44pm
Block or no block Coach12 Softball 17 Tue Jul 05, 2005 05:48pm
New NBA Collective Bargaining Agreement Dribble Basketball 36 Fri Jun 24, 2005 12:18pm
difference between cut block and chop block ase Football 7 Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:23am
P.C. or Block Teddly Basketball 5 Sat Dec 20, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1