![]() |
|
|||
Collective block or not?
I have discussed this scenario with many officials (Nationals of both PAVO and USAV) and seem to have a conflict of proper ruling.
Back row setter Team A (BRSA) is standing next to a Front Row Player Team A (FRPA) at the net with her hands near her head but not above the net. The ball comes from her side A (an overpass) and goes into the plain of the net with no one from Team A making a play on the ball. BRSA does not jump so her hands stay below the net on this play. The legal front row player from Team B attacks the ball once it gets into the net (so no reaching over). The FRPA goes up to block the attack and either she blocks the ball from Player B or the ball hits the BRSA who is standing next to her close to the net with her hands up near her head. Do we have a back row block on team A if ball hits either the FRPA blocking the ball or the BRSA just standing next to her at the net as this should be called a collective block? Or do we have a legal block (and 3 more possible hits by Team A) if it hits only FRPA and only 2 hits left for Team A if ball hits BRSA just standing there as this would be team's first contact? I am getting differences of opinion and ruling from many officials on this. Just curious what everyone thinks and has been taught on this. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block | benbret | Volleyball | 6 | Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:44pm |
Block or no block | Coach12 | Softball | 17 | Tue Jul 05, 2005 05:48pm |
New NBA Collective Bargaining Agreement | Dribble | Basketball | 36 | Fri Jun 24, 2005 12:18pm |
difference between cut block and chop block | ase | Football | 7 | Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:23am |
P.C. or Block | Teddly | Basketball | 5 | Sat Dec 20, 2003 06:23pm |