![]() |
|
|||
Florida-Michigan WCWS Call
I will start this by saying I am a Michigan fan, so I am biased.
Late in game 2, Michigan had a player thrown out at third base as part of an odd double play. Grounder to the F6, who checks the runner at second, then throws to first. The runner then heads to third after the throw is released. Florida gets the out at first then throws to third. F5 is blocking part of the base as the throw is coming in. The runner has a chance to tag the base by sticking her hand/arm in between F5's leg. F5 catches the throw with her glove on the back of the runner. Runner is called out. Michigan coach is arguing for obstruction. Does she have a case? F5 was clearly in the position well prior to the throw getting near the base. My argument, on the replay, is that the runners had actually got in prior to the ball arriving and the tag being applied. Given the position of the fielders legs (kneeling with the back leg alongside the 3rd base, I'm not sure the umpire really had a view of the hand when the tag was applied (even though she was positioned where she should be). Does anyone have video of this play or has seen the play and can comment. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Michigan-UCLA Delay Call | chapmaja | Softball | 5 | Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:41am |
Kentucky-Florida 4 second call?? (Video) | frezer11 | Basketball | 42 | Tue Feb 10, 2015 12:32am |
Video Request: Michigan v. Florida (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 01, 2013 06:43am |
Another WCWS Call: Runner Hit by Batted Ball | BretMan | Softball | 23 | Mon May 28, 2012 09:06pm |
Florida head coach accuses umpires of cheating his team at WCWS | UmpireErnie | Softball | 49 | Mon Jun 07, 2010 07:34am |