The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2015, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
That's actually an interesting question. The rules say the pitcher can have warm-up throws and there shall be 1 minute to accomplish this. It does not say anything about any other player taking warm-up throws from the pitchers plate if they are not the pitcher.

In theory every player on the team could come out and take a warm-up throw to the catcher before the half inning starts. They are not the pitcher, so it doesn't count against the pitches for the pitcher, but it does count against the time between half innings.

Why a coach would want a non-pitcher taking tosses I really have no idea. Maybe a new catcher and they want softer tosses to the catcher first?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1