The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Thrown Bat (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99703-thrown-bat.html)

dlsumpntx Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:13am

Thrown Bat
 
NFHS & ASA: What are the thrown bat penalties?

RKBUmp Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:50am

Both nfhs and asa if it is done in anger it is an ejection. In nfhs a thrown bat is a team warning and next instance is a restriction to the bench . if a thrown bat interfere with a fielders ability to make a play on the batted ball it is interference in both nfhs and asa.

Dakota Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 961244)
Both nfhs and asa if it is done in anger it is an ejection. In nfhs a thrown bat is a team warning and next instance is a restriction to the bench . if a thrown bat interfere with a fielders ability to make a play on the batted ball it is interference in both nfhs and asa.

To clarify for NFHS. (Rules 3-6-3 and 3-6-16)

If done deliberately (doesn't use the words "in anger"), then the penalty is ejection, with the umpire given the option of a warning to the player if judged to be "of a minor nature", with the player ejected if the act is repeated.

If done "carelessly", the penalty is a team warning with the next offender on the team restricted to the bench.

(And, of course, the penalty for interference in both cases if that applies.)

AtlUmpSteve Fri Apr 24, 2015 01:17pm

To add on:

One of the still-remaining myths of the game is that umpires can call a batter out for throwing a bat; that is only true if it interferes with a play. It doesn't matter that it hit the catcher or the umpire, or if you have warned them. But, so many rec leagues have rules aout it that people believe there is such a rule.

You also cannot use the God rule which only applies when/if there is no specfic ruling. It is not an out, you cannot make it one. You can eject/restrict the player if 1) done deliberately, 2) done carelessly, or 3) endangers another player. Personally, I prefer referencing #3, if a repeat performance.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 24, 2015 03:23pm

I hate that so many people think there's a penalty for this. It's worse than the hands are part of the bat myth.

Dakota Fri Apr 24, 2015 03:43pm

Interesting technicality from the way the NFHS rules are written...

Case 1:

2nd inning, player A deliberately throws her bat, but it is well clear of anyone, and while deliberate, it was judged to be a minor infraction by the PU. PU warns the player. 4th inning, player B accidentally throws her bat. PU issues a team warning.

Case 2:

2nd inning, player A accidently throws her bat. PU issues a team warning. 4th inning, player B accidentally throws her bat. PU restricts player B to the bench.

chapmaja Sat Apr 25, 2015 02:33pm

We actually had a warning issued on this yesterday by the plate umpire. Batter carelessly released a bat back towards the on deck circle where it hit the leg of her team mate. The umpire issued a warning for throwing the bat.

I did have an ejection/restriction for a thrown bat in Rec ball (6th grade) a couple years ago. Warned the girl on her first at bat. Warned her again on her second at bat. Third at bat the bat comes out of her hands and comes back to hit the catch. After the play I went down to the head coach (and told her he needed a replacement runner for the last batter). The coach understood, by I thought I was going to have the child's father come on the field to protest. Our rules say ejection, but it is poorly worded and the ejection related suspension was overturned (Ejected = suspended 1 game). The rule was then changed to require a restriction to the dugout, not an ejection.

Two seasons ago I thought I was going to have an interference call on a thrown bat interference until I realized the batter was holding the handle of the bat as she came down to first. The composite bat (which was brand new), separated and the barrel went flying with the handle in the batters hand. That took some explaining to the defensive coach who was PO'ed that interference wasn't called when his F5 got hit while fielding a ground ball.

We had a pissed parent in that game too. Pissed that the new $300.00 bat he bought his DD broke very quickly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1