The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference on pop up foul (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99672-interference-pop-up-foul.html)

Insane Blue Mon Apr 13, 2015 02:11pm

Interference on pop up foul
 
ASA Rule Set
Bases loaded the runner on 3rd is off base on the pitch when the batter hits a pop up down 3rd base line which. The runner is attempting to get back to the base but interferes with the 3rd baseman going to the ball who was playing in front of the bag. The ball ultimately landed foul just beyond the base.

I ruled interference on the runner runner is out. What should have been done with the Batter?

I talked to my local DUIC but not so sure of his ruling which I will post later.

AtlUmpSteve Mon Apr 13, 2015 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Insane Blue (Post 960826)
ASA Rule Set
Bases loaded the runner on 3rd is off base on the pitch when the batter hits a pop up down 3rd base line which. The runner is attempting to get back to the base but interferes with the 3rd baseman going to the ball who was playing in front of the bag. The ball ultimately landed foul just beyond the base.

I ruled interference on the runner runner is out. What should have been done with the Batter?

I talked to my local DUIC but not so sure of his ruling which I will post later.

8.7.J EXCEPTION (listed in book after L, but applies J-L)

Insane Blue Mon Apr 13, 2015 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 960827)
8.7.J EXCEPTION (listed in book after L, but applies J-L)

I do not remember reading "L" that confirms what my DUIC said.

I had never had this situation told both coaches that I was not sure about Batter Runner so it was decided to put her on first as if it was a routine interference call. Thankfully the game was a blowout.

Thank you Steve.

chapmaja Mon Apr 13, 2015 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Insane Blue (Post 960829)
I do not remember reading "L" that confirms what my DUIC said.

I had never had this situation told both coaches that I was not sure about Batter Runner so it was decided to put her on first as if it was a routine interference call. Thankfully the game was a blowout.

Thank you Steve.

I don't have the book in front of me, but I think it is one of two possibilities.

One, runner is out for INT and the batter is returned to the batters box with 1 additional strike for a foul ball.

Two, the runner is out on the INT and if in the judgment of the umpire, the ball, would have been caught absent the INT, we had an out for that as well.

I think two is actually what I remember the discussion being at a clinic a couple years ago. The rationale was that if we only call the INT we are benefitting the offensive team because it would have been an out anyway on the catch.

Crabby_Bob Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Insane Blue (Post 960826)
ASA Rule Set
Bases loaded the runner on 3rd is off base on the pitch when the batter hits a pop up down 3rd base line which. The runner is attempting to get back to the base but interferes with the 3rd baseman going to the ball who was playing in front of the bag. The ball ultimately landed foul just beyond the base.

I ruled interference on the runner runner is out. What should have been done with the Batter?

I talked to my local DUIC but not so sure of his ruling which I will post later.

Out for leaving early? ;)

Big Slick Tue Apr 14, 2015 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 960827)
8.7.J EXCEPTION (listed in book after L, but applies J-L)

For ASA 2015, reorganized: 8-7-J Effect F

NFHS, this would result in the runner is out and a foul ball on the batter (8-6 Penalty).

EsqUmp Thu Apr 16, 2015 06:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Insane Blue (Post 960829)
I do not remember reading "L" that confirms what my DUIC said.

I had never had this situation told both coaches that I was not sure about Batter Runner so it was decided to put her on first as if it was a routine interference call. Thankfully the game was a blowout.

Thank you Steve.

Just keep in mind that it is rather hard to have a batter given a base on a foul ball.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 16, 2015 07:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Insane Blue (Post 960826)
ASA Rule Set
Bases loaded the runner on 3rd is off base on the pitch when the batter hits a pop up down 3rd base line which. The runner is attempting to get back to the base but interferes with the 3rd baseman going to the ball who was playing in front of the bag. The ball ultimately landed foul just beyond the base.

I ruled interference on the runner runner is out. What should have been done with the Batter?

I talked to my local DUIC but not so sure of his ruling which I will post later.

I'm sort of surprised no one has asked the position of the ball at the time of the INT. It would only matter if the batter-runner was not declared out on the play.

EsqUmp Mon Apr 20, 2015 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 961016)
I'm sort of surprised no one has asked the position of the ball at the time of the INT. It would only matter if the batter-runner was not declared out on the play.

The question said "FOUL" so I assumed it was foul.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 20, 2015 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 961093)
The question said "FOUL" so I assumed it was foul.

The question said it ultimately ended foul... but that's actually irrelevant, given that the play was killed earlier than that. Where was the ball when the play was killed?

chapmaja Mon Apr 20, 2015 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 961095)
The question said it ultimately ended foul... but that's actually irrelevant, given that the play was killed earlier than that. Where was the ball when the play was killed?

Given the way everything in the OP was worded, I took it to mean a rather high pop up that F5 should have a relatively easy time coming to make a play on. That was just how I understood the OP.

EsqUmp Tue Apr 21, 2015 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 961095)
The question said it ultimately ended foul... but that's actually irrelevant, given that the play was killed earlier than that. Where was the ball when the play was killed?

I went with the title of the post and didn't read into it. Seemed clear to me it was foul the whole time. But I get your point.

MD Longhorn Tue Apr 21, 2015 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 961114)
Given the way everything in the OP was worded, I took it to mean a rather high pop up that F5 should have a relatively easy time coming to make a play on. That was just how I understood the OP.

Me too. But what you say here does not answer the question either. Where was the ball when the INT happened

Big Slick Tue Apr 21, 2015 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 961119)
Me too. But what you say here does not answer the question either. Where was the ball when the INT happened

Since ASA is mentioned in the OP, it does not matter the location of the ball. Two out either way: 8-7-J Effect F.

Quote:

If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball, fair or foul, with ordinary effort, the batter is also out
It does matter for FED and NCAA.

MD Longhorn Tue Apr 21, 2015 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 961121)
Since ASA is mentioned in the OP, it does not matter the location of the ball. Two out either way: 8-7-J Effect F.

Um .. that's not what MY rulebook says. 2 outs is the effect under "if the interference was, in the umpire's judgement, an attempt to prevent a double play..."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1