The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS question on playing shorthanded (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99217-nfhs-question-playing-shorthanded.html)

CecilOne Mon Mar 02, 2015 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 956699)
So if in a NFHS game a player leaves and returns, and no sub takes her place (short hand rule is applied) has this player used her reentry?

Which now makes me wonder, if the player leaves the game and team goes short handed then she returns while on defense and catches a fly ball can the other team claim she is an unreported sub because her reentry was not reported? :eek:

I will keep saying "Shorthanded should be elaborated/clarified in NFHS." :rolleyes:

jmkupka Mon Mar 02, 2015 04:50pm

That would imply that a team is allowed to play shorthanded if there is a legal substitute available. Is that the case?

CecilOne Mon Mar 02, 2015 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 956707)
That would imply that a team is allowed to play shorthanded if there is a legal substitute available. Is that the case?

No.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 956699)
So if in a NFHS game a player leaves and returns, and no sub takes her place (short hand rule is applied) has this player used her reentry?

Which now makes me wonder, if the player leaves the game and team goes short handed then she returns while on defense and catches a fly ball can the other team claim she is an unreported sub because her reentry was not reported? :eek:

When the player returns to the game, this does constitute a re-entry. And, as such, if the player did not report, she (and the coach) would be subject to the appropriate penalty.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 956707)
That would imply that a team is allowed to play shorthanded if there is a legal substitute available. Is that the case?

Another rule that is a bit cloudy.

Rule 3-3 Art 8 d. Once a team has gone short-handed and another eligible player is available, that player may fill the empty space in the lineup.

I've had this conversation with our interpreter as well. He thinks an available sub must be put in. The way the rule is written, that does not appear to be the case. The coach, for whatever reason, could decide to leave an eligible sub on the bench.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1