![]() |
|
|||
This is a play that I wish ASA would clarify their interpretation.
Strictly speaking, there was no interference, since the ball was not in the possession of F2 and was not closer to F2 than the runner. So, strictly speaking, we have obstruction with malicious contact. Runner safe & ejected. I keep repeating "strictly speaking" because that is what the rule book says, but not what the case book says. There is the small matter of ASA Case Play 10.8-1. Quote:
Mike has pointed out that the instruction he has received are that we are to apply the Case Play for these kinds of situations, so using that, the proper call in ASA is dead ball, R1 out and ejected, no runs score. But, I wish ASA would add this to the rule book in 2004 if that is the way they want if called.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|