The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/98224-interference.html)

jmkupka Sat Jul 26, 2014 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 938260)
Rich Ives on the Baseball Forum addressed this...

3) The Ball was touching in Foul Territory when B/R-1 made contact with F3. who was attempting to make a play on the Ball.

4) B/R-1 has committed Interference with F3. The Ball becomes Dead immediately. B/R/-1 is out because of committing Interference. All runners return to the bases they occupied at the time of the B/R-1's Interference.

5) B/R-1 can be ejected for Malicious Contact and/or Unsportsmanlike Conduct in some rules sets.

MTD, Sr.

All due respect, how is this different from the case that I posted in my recent thread "Sharing things that I've learned here…", in which I was told that it is an immediate foul ball as soon as the interference happens, thereby no out.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:18am

Speaking ASA

A batted ball has no given status until an event involving the ball as listed in the definitions of Fair or Foul occurs.

8.2.F.1 clearly notes the BR is out if interfering with a defender attempting to field a batted ball.

A batted ball is any pitched ball which contacts the bat and "lands" in either fair or foul territory. Please note that it states where the ball lands, not that is applies a status to the ball in doing so.

Yes, this is a different requirement for INT than that applied to a runner, but it is what it is and I suspect it is maintained as such to address the scenario prevented in the OP

Manny A Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 938302)
Speaking ASA

A batted ball has no given status until an event involving the ball as listed in the definitions of Fair or Foul occurs.

8.2.F.1 clearly notes the BR is out if interfering with a defender attempting to field a batted ball.

A batted ball is any pitched ball which contacts the bat and "lands" in either fair or foul territory. Please note that it states where the ball lands, not that is applies a status to the ball in doing so.

Yes, this is a different requirement for INT than that applied to a runner, but it is what it is and I suspect it is maintained as such to address the scenario prevented in the OP

So if the OP had said it was R1 at third who pushed F1 out of the way while the ball was in foul territory while R1 was going home, and the ball ended up hitting the third base bag, this would be covered under 8-7-J, and R1 would not be guilty of INT? Why the inconsistency on practically exact plays?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 938302)
Speaking ASA

A batted ball has no given status until an event involving the ball as listed in the definitions of Fair or Foul occurs.

8.2.F.1 clearly notes the BR is out if interfering with a defender attempting to field a batted ball.

A batted ball is any pitched ball which contacts the bat and "lands" in either fair or foul territory. Please note that it states where the ball lands, not that is applies a status to the ball in doing so.

Yes, this is a different requirement for INT than that applied to a runner, but it is what it is and I suspect it is maintained as such to address the scenario prevented in the OP



Irish:

Thanks. I will put my check in the mail Monday morning, ;).

MTD, Sr.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jul 26, 2014 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 938304)
So if the OP had said it was R1 at third who pushed F1 out of the way while the ball was in foul territory while R1 was going home, and the ball ended up hitting the third base bag, this would be covered under 8-7-J, and R1 would not be guilty of INT? Why the inconsistency on practically exact plays?

If I knew that, I would probably have stated it long ago. I've had many sensible proposed changes (all which have been discussed on this or a preceding board) that have been rejected.

It took me two years to get the D3K rule corrected. The actions and arguments you see at some of these committee meetings do not make sense and it is unbelievable how some things are so engrained in peoples' minds that they cannot see the obvious even if you read it to them from the rule book.

Manny A Sun Jul 27, 2014 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 938256)
Oops. NCAA 11.5 - Foul Ball
A legally batted ball that:
11.5.7 Is in foul territory when a base runner in foul territory interferes with a defensive player's attempt to field a batted ball.

OK... just need NFHS now.

It's in there Mike. See 2-25-1e. Practically word-for-word with what's written in NCAA and ASA.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1