![]() |
do-over? DO-OVER?
Heard this play discussed between games this weekend... bunt up 3b line, F5 charges and fields it cleanly, F2 and BR collide as they leave the batter's box area.
PU judges BR would've been out by 30' even without the OBS, so can't in good conscience award 1B, can't be put out between the bases, so... we have a do-over. 14U PONY qualifier. |
Tangle untangle at home plate is not obstruction.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And I thought that only applies when F2 is moving to field the batted ball (she is the "protected" fielder) right around home plate. In this play, F5 fielded it up the third base line. If anything, this would be obstruction on F2 since it's highly likely F5 was protected. |
As I recall, the play as being described is the one exception to the "it has to be either interference or obstruction" philosophy under ASA rules.
The reasoning is that the ball, the defense, and the batter are all in a small area around home plate. If there is a tangle between the catcher moving out to play the ball and the BR running to first base and neither does anything to intentionally hinder the other, it's a play-on situation. It may be obstruction or interference, or it could be nothing, but it is definitely NOT a do-over. I will see if I can find some documentation of the rue interp. |
I refrained from answering quickly as well, as I'm looking for the bulletin. I know it's been covered in clinics and at least one bulletin. Can't find the bulletin yet.
|
re: "Tangle" play in ASA softball.
The following used to be in the umpire manual. Simply because there is contact between the offensive and defensive player does not mean that obstruction or interference has occurred. This is definitely NOT the case. The field is laid out in such a manner that it, in itself, puts the defensive and offensive player on a collision course. The right-handed batter, for example, who lays down a bunt (FP) in front of home plate is on a collision course with the catcher when running in a direct line to first base. Each player at this point is within legal right - the batter taking a path in direct line to first base and the catcher coming out from behind home plate to field the ball. When the umpire manual was rewritten (2009 if I recall correctly) the above passage was edited out. What remains of the old text is still there in today's book, in edited form, under "Collision" on page 253. The gist of it is still there, but there is no longer any reference to the batter/catcher tangle play specifically. There's no question that ASA supported this ruling at one time. My question would be if they still do. When an interpretation is removed from an official source, is the interpretation no longer valid? Was it removed because they don't want it enforced like that anymore? |
I think we need Steve or Irish to jump in here.
|
Years ago, there was a NFHS case play that allowed for the possibility of a train wreck. I just don't recall what year. I'd be curious to know the NFHS perspective on this.
|
Quote:
|
Not kidding, and I'll take the well-known east coast official's name to the grave :)
|
Quote:
I do have a question. How slow was the BR to leave the box? The BR certainly wasn't going to be bunting for as base hit on this play because she would have to be out of the box a lot quicker than that to even have a shot at a base hit. |
I can envision batter squaring early, in the RH BB, and F2 is anticipating the jump.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm. |