The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Weird or maddening "mechanics" (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/98062-weird-maddening-mechanics.html)

Dakota Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:53am

Weird or maddening "mechanics"
 
Taking Cecil's suggestion, from the last 2 weeks, I've had partners who:

1. Grabbed a mouthful of sunflower seeds from a bag in his pocket between every batter (he was BU)

2. Always did the "inform the new pitcher" deal (2 different partners, PU's obviously).

The first just looks bad, IMO. The second is annoying, especially since these were 18U teams!

jmkupka Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:29am

Every time there is a pitching change, I'm always watching my partner (BU or PU), & thinking to myself, "please don't, please don't"...

If I were an OC and had an umpire do this, I'm sure I'd have words with him.

teebob21 Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:56pm

I've been lucky enough to work with good partners so much recently I haven't seen weird mechanics for a while. Last season, I worked with a partner that called "Ball Down! Ball Down!" on anything to the outfield that wasn't caught. Is that a baseball thing?

Regarding new pitchers, I don't give them the situation except for one exception: after an injury to the previous pitcher when someone comes off the bench to throw. Even then, I only give the outs and count if applicable from behind the plate after making eye contact. (The outs is partly to ensure my partner and I are on the same page after an injury timeout, and partly for the new player.)

I've never had anyone comment on that mechanic. Thoughts?

BretMan Mon Jun 16, 2014 01:03pm

Lately I've had a rash of "inform the new pitcher" partners. It's bad enough that they want to interject themselves to tell the pitcher the number of outs and how many runners are on base. A lot of guys need to point at each baserunner as they announce them to the pitcher. Just in case the pitcher doesn't know where first, second or third bases are, I guess?

This happened again yesterday. All I could think was, "This pitcher has at least four coaches in the dugout and her own set of eyeballs. Why does the umpire need to tell her the situation?".

I'm seeing a lot of strange stuff on the field this year:

- Last week I worked with a guy who verbally announced called strikes, but didn't use any sort of arm signal! He only made a hammer/arm signal on swinging strikes.

- Was partnered up with two different guys in the past week who didn't wear a chest protector or shin guards. One was in 12U, the other was in 18U. This is just a snapped collar bone or shattered knee cap waiting to happen.

- Was working a game with our associations UIC earlier this year, a guy who has been around forever. He would give the foul tip signal on ALL "fouled straight back to the screen" foul balls!

- My partner yesterday was wearing a blank, non-logo'd hat in our ASA sanctioned event. And it was a beanie!

- Then there was the guy who worked behind the plate with NO hat.

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 16, 2014 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 936111)
I've been lucky enough to work with good partners so much recently I haven't seen weird mechanics for a while. Last season, I worked with a partner that called "Ball Down! Ball Down!" on anything to the outfield that wasn't caught. Is that a baseball thing?

Regarding new pitchers, I don't give them the situation except for one exception: after an injury to the previous pitcher when someone comes off the bench to throw. Even then, I only give the outs and count if applicable from behind the plate after making eye contact. (The outs is partly to ensure my partner and I are on the same page after an injury timeout, and partly for the new player.)

I've never had anyone comment on that mechanic. Thoughts?

Outs is not necessary, really. Count is appropriate though. You would give the count before a pitch anyway - no problem reminding pitcher and batter what the count is after a delay.

CecilOne Mon Jun 16, 2014 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 936126)
Outs is not necessary, really. Count is appropriate though. You would give the count before a pitch anyway - no problem reminding pitcher and batter what the count is after a delay.

Even the existing pitcher gets the count after a delay or after a running play (mostly for my partner), but not outs AND CERTAINLY NOT runners.

CecilOne Mon Jun 16, 2014 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 936113)
who didn't wear a chest protector or shin guards.

I know an ump who I think shares them with the catcher. :eek: ;) :D

KJUmp Mon Jun 16, 2014 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 936113)
Lately I've had a rash of "inform the new pitcher" partners. It's bad enough that they want to interject themselves to tell the pitcher the number of outs and how many runners are on base. A lot of guys need to point at each baserunner as they announce them to the pitcher. Just in case the pitcher doesn't know where first, second or third bases are, I guess?

This happened again yesterday. All I could think was, "This pitcher has at least four coaches in the dugout and her own set of eyeballs. Why does the umpire need to tell her the situation?".

I'm seeing a lot of strange stuff on the field this year:

- Last week I worked with a guy who verbally announced called strikes, but didn't use any sort of arm signal! He only made a hammer/arm signal on swinging strikes.

- Was partnered up with two different guys in the past week who didn't wear a chest protector or shin guards. One was in 12U, the other was in 18U. This is just a snapped collar bone or shattered knee cap waiting to happen.

- Was working a game with our associations UIC earlier this year, a guy who has been around forever. He would give the foul tip signal on ALL "fouled straight back to the screen" foul balls!

- My partner yesterday was wearing a blank, non-logo'd hat in our ASA sanctioned event. And it was a beanie!

- Then there was the guy who worked behind the plate with NO hat.

And you still have your sanity???

teebob21 Mon Jun 16, 2014 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 936133)
Even the existing pitcher gets the count after a delay or after a running play (mostly for my partner),

Agreed. I do this as well, but not as consistently as I should after a steal/passed ball.
Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 936133)
but not outs

Duly noted.
Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 936133)
AND CERTAINLY NOT runners.

Agreed. They're standing on the bases; just look around before you pitch! :)

Is there ever a time we give the entire field the outs? Other than what I mentioned I do, I never give the outs, unless a smart player has learned to steal my two-out timing play/wiping off IFF sign to my partner.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jun 16, 2014 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 936098)
Every time there is a pitching change, I'm always watching my partner (BU or PU), & thinking to myself, "please don't, please don't"...

If I were an OC and had an umpire do this, I'm sure I'd have words with him.


Speaking of OCs. Two weeks ago in an girls' ASA FP tournament, I was on the Plate and Mark, Jr., was on the Bases. in a 10U game.

Red Team (who is the Visiting team and is losing) makes a pitching change during the inning. The new F1 comes in and takes her five warm-up pitches while her HC stands next to her during her warm-up pitches. After F1 finishes warming up her HC continues to stand next to the Pitching Circle. I tell the HC we are ready to play and our conversation goes as follows:

Defensive (Red) HC: Aren't you going to tell her what the situation is?

Me: What?

Red HC: Aren't you going to tell her where the runners are and how many outs there are?

Me: No. You need to leave the field now Coach.

Red HC: But that is your job.

Me: No, that is your job. (She is now just outside her dugout gate.) I am not her coach, you are.

Offensive (White) HC (from the 3B Coaching Box): Yes it is your job.

Me (to White HC): That is enough because you are not part of this conversation.

Red HC: See! She even knows you are not doing your job.

Mark, Jr.: Time! Game over. Time limit has been reached.

There is nothing like a long conversation on a very hot afternoon when the time limit is close at hand. :D

MTD, Sr.

BretMan Mon Jun 16, 2014 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 936148)
And you still have your sanity???

That is debatable...

This is just the tip of the iceberg. Plenty more strangeness on the field this season! I could write a book...

CecilOne Tue Jun 17, 2014 07:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 936152)
Is there ever a time we give the entire field the outs? .

Yes, when there is confusion about how many outs.
Maybe, when more than one player asks at the same time.

Manny A Tue Jun 17, 2014 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 936111)
Last season, I worked with a partner that called "Ball Down! Ball Down!" on anything to the outfield that wasn't caught. Is that a baseball thing?

Ummm, No.

CecilOne Tue Jun 17, 2014 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 936092)
Taking Cecil's suggestion

BTW, I was asking seriously about fine points, not the trivial items of some of the above. :rolleyes:

Dakota Tue Jun 17, 2014 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 936170)
BTW, I was asking seriously about fine points, not the trivial items of some of the above. :rolleyes:

But, the trivial items are much for fun! :D

GoRedSox Tue Jun 17, 2014 07:54am

[QUOTE=BretMan;936113]

- Was working a game with our associations UIC earlier this year, a guy who has been around forever. He would give the foul tip signal on ALL "fouled straight back to the screen" foul balls!

I was assessed the other night by my association President and he said ASA requires a foul signal call on ALL four balls and he was saying not calling it is an NCAA mechanic. I recall at last year’s ASA National Clinic not to signal fouls that are straight forward. Thoughts?

BretMan Tue Jun 17, 2014 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoRedSox (Post 936113)
I was assessed the other night by my association President and he said ASA requires a foul signal call on ALL four balls and he was saying not calling it is an NCAA mechanic. I recall at last year’s ASA National Clinic not to signal fouls that are straight forward. Thoughts?

I agree that ASA wants us to signal all foul balls.

I never used to signal the obvious ones, like into the bleachers. Last year several guys that had been to national tournaments posted that they were instructed to signal all fouls. Even on the obvious ones, where no verbal call is needed, we are still supposed to raise our hands.

Personally, I don't recall having been told that by either my local association or at the national schools I've attended. Then again, my last NUS was four years ago. Maybe it's a new directive or emphasis?

The UIC I posed about was giving the foul tip signal (brushing hands together) on all uncaught balls that got nicked and went straight back to the screen. That's just a bad, bad rookie mistake, except it was coming from a guy who's been umpiring for forty years and is the head umpire of our association. :eek:

Manny A Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 936178)
Personally, I don't recall having been told that by either my local association or at the national schools I've attended. Then again, my last NUS was four years ago. Maybe it's a new directive or emphasis?

That's what JJ instructed us to do at last year's 18 GOLD National. All fouls are signaled.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936190)
That's what JJ instructed us to do at last year's 18 GOLD National. All fouls are signaled.

Just to follow up on this thought, if all fouls are signaled, does every next pitch need a "beckoning motion" to the pitcher?

I've tried to make sure I do this with runners on base at a minimum. With no runners, if batter is in the BB and pitcher and catcher are ready, off we go.

charliej47 Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 936194)
Just to follow up on this thought, if all fouls are signaled, does every next pitch need a "beckoning motion" to the pitcher?

I've tried to make sure I do this with runners on base at a minimum. With no runners, if batter is in the BB and pitcher and catcher are ready, off we go.

Thew last National I attended, I was informed that "We WILL always put the ball back in play after a dead ball. Such as a foul or a stoppage.".:cool:

CecilOne Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 936195)
Thew last National I attended, I was informed that "We WILL always put the ball back in play after a dead ball. Such as a foul or a stoppage.".:cool:

But beckoning to the pitcher is incorrect, just say "play".

CecilOne Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936190)
That's what JJ instructed us to do at last year's 18 GOLD National. All fouls are signaled.

I guess that fits with my being instructed to signal non-catches; regardless of prior teaching. :rolleyes:

Moosie74 Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 936111)
I've been lucky enough to work with good partners so much recently I haven't seen weird mechanics for a while. Last season, I worked with a partner that called "Ball Down! Ball Down!" on anything to the outfield that wasn't caught. Is that a baseball thing?

While most of us use it in baseball, it does come over to softball fairly often which is quite helpful while I am still coming in and if you don't give a verbal catch, I have no idea what's happening behind me.

charliej47 Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Moosie74 (Post 936199)
While most of us use it in baseball, it does come over to softball fairly often which is quite helpful while I am still coming in and if you don't give a verbal catch, I have no idea what's happening behind me.

:rolleyes: My instructor told the class to say "On the ground, on the ground" to mean that the ball touched the ground. I carry this over to baseball.:D

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jun 17, 2014 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 936202)
:rolleyes: My instructor told the class to say "On the ground, on the ground" to mean that the ball touched the ground. I carry this over to baseball.:D

I also use "on the ground" when working w/ a partner. If there are baserunners, however, BU has to be taking a peek at when first touch occurs for tag up purposes.

Too many times I'll see a base partner gandering at the outfield w/ no runners on and he has no clue if the BR touched first base.

I've asked at NUSs and Nationals regarding the fouls directly back to the fence. Got different answers. Some are of the opinion that "everybody knows it's a foul ball - save your energy" and others, as noted in this string want everything called and/or signaled.

That's why I ask the questions. One to know what to do in a particular tournament (when in Rome), and two, to try and figure out what the actual standard is.

Manny A Tue Jun 17, 2014 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Moosie74 (Post 936199)
While most of us use it in baseball, it does come over to softball fairly often which is quite helpful while I am still coming in and if you don't give a verbal catch, I have no idea what's happening behind me.

No biggie. If I don't hear my partner say "Catch", I'm assuming one wasn't made. I'm not listening for "on the ground" or "ball's down" or (Heaven forbid) "no catch".

And quite often, I will know myself whether or not one was made because I'll watch the ball and only glance at the runner as she reaches the base.

Tru_in_Blu Tue Jun 17, 2014 02:56pm

I always use a verbal "no catch" on a trapped ball with a safe signal.

Especially with runners on base, I think I should make a call as soon as I can so as not to put anyone in jeopardy.

I've had partners not say or do anything and runners are hung out to dry - not knowing whether to go back to their base or attempt to get to the next base.

So what's a better protocol/mechanic for a line drive that F4 traps on the backhand. A runner on first and the BU might not be able to tell.

Andy Tue Jun 17, 2014 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 936230)
I always use a verbal "no catch" on a trapped ball with a safe signal.

Especially with runners on base, I think I should make a call as soon as I can so as not to put anyone in jeopardy.

I've had partners not say or do anything and runners are hung out to dry - not knowing whether to go back to their base or attempt to get to the next base.

So what's a better protocol/mechanic for a line drive that F4 traps on the backhand. A runner on first and the BU might not be able to tell.

As was stated earlier, if you say "NO CATCH", players may only hear "CATCH" and wonder why you are changing your call later.

On a play like you describe, I will sometimes just say "NO" with a big safe signal.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 17, 2014 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 936242)
As was stated earlier, if you say "NO CATCH", players may only hear "CATCH" and wonder why you are changing your call later.

On a play like you describe, I will sometimes just say "NO" with a big safe signal.

I agree. And it should be very sharp/short so it cannot be confused with an "out" call.

AtlUmpSteve Wed Jun 18, 2014 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936226)
No biggie. If I don't hear my partner say "Catch", I'm assuming one wasn't made. I'm not listening for "on the ground" or "ball's down" or (Heaven forbid) "no catch".

And quite often, I will know myself whether or not one was made because I'll watch the ball and only glance at the runner as she reaches the base.

The prior regime heading the ASA NUS recommended/urged/pushed "one word" and simple calls in any possible situation, to minimize any possible misunderstandings. Secondary advantage of being less likely to misstate what you saw. Of course, as you might expect, the newer regime disavowed the recommendation.

"Out", "safe", "swing", "YES!", "ball", "foul", and "NO!" are examples that are difficult to claim were heard differently. There are worse things than "catch"; "no catch" would be one such worse thing.

Tru_in_Blu Thu Jun 19, 2014 06:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 936369)
"Out", "safe", "swing", "YES!", "ball", "foul", and "NO!" are examples that are difficult to claim were heard differently. There are worse things than "catch"; "no catch" would be one such worse thing.

OK. I'll work on this part of my game for a while and relay that to any partners who have the foresight to ask if I'm focusing on anything in our upcoming game.

EsqUmp Thu Jun 19, 2014 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936226)
No biggie. If I don't hear my partner say "Catch", I'm assuming one wasn't made. I'm not listening for "on the ground" or "ball's down" or (Heaven forbid) "no catch".

And quite often, I will know myself whether or not one was made because I'll watch the ball and only glance at the runner as she reaches the base.

Another way to know that the ball wasn't caught is to watch the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1