The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   odd rule questions (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97950-odd-rule-questions.html)

xtremeump Sun Jun 22, 2014 02:16pm

[QUOTE=CecilOne;936486]This happened:
R1 on 2nd. Ground ball headed for left field, R1 heads for 3rd, BU cuts behind her toward infield. F6 makes an amazing play on ball, jumps up and chases R1 back toward 2nd. BU still cutting in and after 1 or 2 steps, R1 runs into BU. F6 tags R1 at collision point, 10 – 15 feet from 2nd. BU calls dead ball, confers with PU.

They decide it was an umpire mistake, misjudging the play and R1’s speed; causing jeopardy for R1, who might have made it back to 2nd. DC disagrees, but BU rules “part of field” applies to ball, not players. Based on jeopardy from umpire mistake, BU places R1 on 2nd, BR on 1st.

Maybe lots of questions here, including whether jeopardy requires a changed ruling.

What are your opinions?[/QUOTE

No Rule Support for poor Officiating !! You must live with this one forever.

CecilOne Sun Jun 22, 2014 02:32pm

Thanks to all, that's what I thought afterward; trying too hard to be fair I guess.

Manny A Mon Jun 23, 2014 05:08am

Just to add from an umpiring lessons learned perspective, be careful anticipating something too early. Busting in before the ball is clearly into the outfield can bite you in the butt as was clearly demonstrated here. I did something similar in an 18 Gold qualifier (two man crew) a couple of years ago when I thought a sharp ground ball past F1 was going to go into right-centerfield, I came in to button hook at first, and almost got clocked by F4's throw after she made a fine backhanded stop.

Timing, timing, timing not only applies to calls, but to positioning as well.

CecilOne Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:51am

hijack !! egads!
 
Did you know that a runner standing on 1st with the ball in the pitcher's control in the circle may run to 2nd if the fielders are not paying attention? :rolleyes:

Corollary - Even with the ball in the circle, the umpires must call time to restrict the runner? :rolleyes:

LIUmp Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 937295)
Did you know that a runner standing on 1st with the ball in the pitcher's control in the circle may run to 2nd if the fielders are not paying attention? :rolleyes:

Yes, IF the pitcher doesn't have BOTH possession AND control, the runner may run. Even IF the ball is in the circle. (ASA)

Coach will go bonkers. But that's the rule in ASA.

CecilOne Sun Jul 06, 2014 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIUmp (Post 937297)
Yes, IF the pitcher doesn't have BOTH possession AND control, the runner may run. Even IF the ball is in the circle. (ASA)

Coach will go bonkers. But that's the rule in ASA.

Did you not read "ball in the pitcher's control "?
Did you not see :rolleyes: ?

chapmaja Sun Jul 06, 2014 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIUmp (Post 937297)
Yes, IF the pitcher doesn't have BOTH possession AND control, the runner may run. Even IF the ball is in the circle. (ASA)

Coach will go bonkers. But that's the rule in ASA.

What is the rule in the following situation.

Pitcher has the ball in the circle, runners back onto the bases. Pitcher takes her glove off, with the ball in her glove and holds it between her knees as she fixes her hair? Does she still have possession and control?

IIRC what I've heard is ASA rules no, but NFHS says yes. Am I correct? Personally I think the pitcher should just do the smart thing and ask for time in the first place.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 937312)
What is the rule in the following situation.

Pitcher has the ball in the circle, runners back onto the bases. Pitcher takes her glove off, with the ball in her glove and holds it between her knees as she fixes her hair? Does she still have possession and control?

IIRC what I've heard is ASA rules no, but NFHS says yes. Am I correct? Personally I think the pitcher should just do the smart thing and ask for time in the first place.

Yes, you are correct, but it is a little ridiculous for NFHS as I've never seen a pitcher make a play on a runner with the ball not in her hands. Just one more reason to kill the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1