The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   odd rule questions (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97950-odd-rule-questions.html)

CecilOne Fri May 23, 2014 11:24am

odd rule questions
 
1) Does any rule set have umpire interference anywhere besides interfering with a catcher's throw?

2) Does any rule set have a possibility of umpire obstruction?

Manny A Fri May 23, 2014 12:01pm

Almost all rule sets that I'm aware of also consider it umpire interference when he/she is hit with a batted ball before it passes an infielder other than the pitcher. For some reason, I don't think FED rules call that umpire interference, but the effect is the same.

Andy Fri May 23, 2014 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934743)
1) Does any rule set have umpire interference anywhere besides interfering with a catcher's throw?

Base Umpire hit by a batted ball....ASA 8-1-E, NFHS 8-4-1f

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934743)

2) Does any rule set have a possibility of umpire obstruction?

Assuming you are referring to an umpire impeding or hindering a baserunner, I am not aware of any ruleset that addresses this.

CecilOne Fri May 23, 2014 12:56pm

OK, I knew that. I was referring to interference with a fielder. :o :rolleyes:

Dakota Fri May 23, 2014 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934743)
1) Does any rule set have umpire interference anywhere besides interfering with a catcher's throw?

2) Does any rule set have a possibility of umpire obstruction?

None that I know of for either question (aside for the elaboration of umpire interference already stated in this thread).

Umpire obstruction does not exist.

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 23, 2014 01:59pm

For the purpose of both questions:

With the sole stated exceptions already elaborated, the umpires are part of the field. Period. Consider yourself and your partners the biggest pebbles or clods of dirt on the field that could possibly affect the ball or a player; and treat the result exactly the same.

Manny A Sat May 24, 2014 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 934759)
Consider yourself and your partners the biggest pebbles or clods of dirt on the field...

That's pretty much in line with what fans have considered me, and sometimes worse...:D

Manny A Sat May 24, 2014 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934754)
OK, I knew that. I was referring to interference with a fielder. :o :rolleyes:

Not too long ago, a MLB umpire (might've been Richie Garcia) called umpire interference on himself while he was U2. He was inside the diamond with a runner at first. On a steal attempt, he positioned himself too close to the throwing path and got hit by the ball on the foot. He called time and sent the runner back to first.

Only time I've ever seen that happen. He obviously took the premise of an umpire interfering with the catcher's attempt to retire a stealing runner a little too far. And nobody complained!

IRISHMAFIA Sun May 25, 2014 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 934797)
Not too long ago, a MLB umpire (might've been Richie Garcia) called umpire interference on himself while he was U2. He was inside the diamond with a runner at first. On a steal attempt, he positioned himself too close to the throwing path and got hit by the ball on the foot. He called time and sent the runner back to first.

Only time I've ever seen that happen. He obviously took the premise of an umpire interfering with the catcher's attempt to retire a stealing runner a little too far. And nobody complained!

Can't be that recent since he was one of the umpires that resigned in 1999 and was not hired back as an umpire.

But really, hit in the FOOT with the throw? He really lost his touch over the years.

SNIPERBBB Mon May 26, 2014 02:44pm

Ball lodging in equipment is pretty close...
NFHS 8-4-3
l. a ball gets lodged in (a) umpire's gear or clothing or (b) in an offensive player's clothing.

PENALTY: (Arts. 3k, 3l)The ball is dead and the umpire should award the runners the bases in the umpire's judgment they would have reached.


Batted ball before it passes a fielder,other than a pitcher:
8-1-2

ART. 2 . . . A batter is awarded first base when:

a. a fair batted ball strikes the person, attached equipment, or clothing of an umpire or a runner.

EFFECTS:
.
.
.
4. If the fair batted ball hits an umpire before passing a fielder other than the pitcher, the ball is dead and the batter-runner is entitled to first base without liability to be put out.
.
.

PENALTIES: (Art. 2).

1. The ball is dead. The batter is entitled to one base without liability to be put out.

CecilOne Sat Jun 21, 2014 07:33pm

This happened:
R1 on 2nd. Ground ball headed for left field, R1 heads for 3rd, BU cuts behind her toward infield. F6 makes an amazing play on ball, jumps up and chases R1 back toward 2nd. BU still cutting in and after 1 or 2 steps, R1 runs into BU. F6 tags R1 at collision point, 10 – 15 feet from 2nd. BU calls dead ball, confers with PU.

They decide it was an umpire mistake, misjudging the play and R1’s speed; causing jeopardy for R1, who might have made it back to 2nd. DC disagrees, but BU rules “part of field” applies to ball, not players. Based on jeopardy from umpire mistake, BU places R1 on 2nd, BR on 1st.

Maybe lots of questions here, including whether jeopardy requires a changed ruling.

What are your opinions?

RKBUmp Sat Jun 21, 2014 08:01pm

Rule book is pretty explicit, only 2 times there can be umpire interference, one with the plate umpire making contact with the catcher while they are attempting to throw and the other when an umpire is hit by a batted ball prior to it passing an infielder. Neither happened in this situation. Dumb mistake by the umpire, runner is out. Take your butt chewing from the offensive coach and learn a lesson to stay out of the play.

Steve M Sun Jun 22, 2014 07:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 936487)
Rule book is pretty explicit, only 2 times there can be umpire interference, one with the plate umpire making contact with the catcher while they are attempting to throw and the other when an umpire is hit by a batted ball prior to it passing an infielder. Neither happened in this situation. Dumb mistake by the umpire, runner is out. Take your butt chewing from the offensive coach and learn a lesson to stay out of the play.

Agreed.

BretMan Sun Jun 22, 2014 07:50am

The rule book says that umpires can fix a situation where a team is put in jeopardy due to a delayed or reversed call, not due to "an umpire mistake". What call was delayed or reversed on this play?

AtlUmpSteve Sun Jun 22, 2014 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 936486)
This happened:
R1 on 2nd. Ground ball headed for left field, R1 heads for 3rd, BU cuts behind her toward infield. F6 makes an amazing play on ball, jumps up and chases R1 back toward 2nd. BU still cutting in and after 1 or 2 steps, R1 runs into BU. F6 tags R1 at collision point, 10 – 15 feet from 2nd. BU calls dead ball, confers with PU.

They decide it was an umpire mistake, misjudging the play and R1’s speed; causing jeopardy for R1, who might have made it back to 2nd. DC disagrees, but BU rules “part of field” applies to ball, not players. Based on jeopardy from umpire mistake, BU places R1 on 2nd, BR on 1st.

Maybe lots of questions here, including whether jeopardy requires a changed ruling.

What are your opinions?

"I protest" the misapplications of the rules. Umpire interference misapplied, "part of field" misapplied, ruling of jeopardy misapplied.

Not even a good rec ball solution trying to make everyone happy, let alone one supported by any rule.

xtremeump Sun Jun 22, 2014 02:16pm

[QUOTE=CecilOne;936486]This happened:
R1 on 2nd. Ground ball headed for left field, R1 heads for 3rd, BU cuts behind her toward infield. F6 makes an amazing play on ball, jumps up and chases R1 back toward 2nd. BU still cutting in and after 1 or 2 steps, R1 runs into BU. F6 tags R1 at collision point, 10 – 15 feet from 2nd. BU calls dead ball, confers with PU.

They decide it was an umpire mistake, misjudging the play and R1’s speed; causing jeopardy for R1, who might have made it back to 2nd. DC disagrees, but BU rules “part of field” applies to ball, not players. Based on jeopardy from umpire mistake, BU places R1 on 2nd, BR on 1st.

Maybe lots of questions here, including whether jeopardy requires a changed ruling.

What are your opinions?[/QUOTE

No Rule Support for poor Officiating !! You must live with this one forever.

CecilOne Sun Jun 22, 2014 02:32pm

Thanks to all, that's what I thought afterward; trying too hard to be fair I guess.

Manny A Mon Jun 23, 2014 05:08am

Just to add from an umpiring lessons learned perspective, be careful anticipating something too early. Busting in before the ball is clearly into the outfield can bite you in the butt as was clearly demonstrated here. I did something similar in an 18 Gold qualifier (two man crew) a couple of years ago when I thought a sharp ground ball past F1 was going to go into right-centerfield, I came in to button hook at first, and almost got clocked by F4's throw after she made a fine backhanded stop.

Timing, timing, timing not only applies to calls, but to positioning as well.

CecilOne Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:51am

hijack !! egads!
 
Did you know that a runner standing on 1st with the ball in the pitcher's control in the circle may run to 2nd if the fielders are not paying attention? :rolleyes:

Corollary - Even with the ball in the circle, the umpires must call time to restrict the runner? :rolleyes:

LIUmp Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 937295)
Did you know that a runner standing on 1st with the ball in the pitcher's control in the circle may run to 2nd if the fielders are not paying attention? :rolleyes:

Yes, IF the pitcher doesn't have BOTH possession AND control, the runner may run. Even IF the ball is in the circle. (ASA)

Coach will go bonkers. But that's the rule in ASA.

CecilOne Sun Jul 06, 2014 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIUmp (Post 937297)
Yes, IF the pitcher doesn't have BOTH possession AND control, the runner may run. Even IF the ball is in the circle. (ASA)

Coach will go bonkers. But that's the rule in ASA.

Did you not read "ball in the pitcher's control "?
Did you not see :rolleyes: ?

chapmaja Sun Jul 06, 2014 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIUmp (Post 937297)
Yes, IF the pitcher doesn't have BOTH possession AND control, the runner may run. Even IF the ball is in the circle. (ASA)

Coach will go bonkers. But that's the rule in ASA.

What is the rule in the following situation.

Pitcher has the ball in the circle, runners back onto the bases. Pitcher takes her glove off, with the ball in her glove and holds it between her knees as she fixes her hair? Does she still have possession and control?

IIRC what I've heard is ASA rules no, but NFHS says yes. Am I correct? Personally I think the pitcher should just do the smart thing and ask for time in the first place.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 937312)
What is the rule in the following situation.

Pitcher has the ball in the circle, runners back onto the bases. Pitcher takes her glove off, with the ball in her glove and holds it between her knees as she fixes her hair? Does she still have possession and control?

IIRC what I've heard is ASA rules no, but NFHS says yes. Am I correct? Personally I think the pitcher should just do the smart thing and ask for time in the first place.

Yes, you are correct, but it is a little ridiculous for NFHS as I've never seen a pitcher make a play on a runner with the ball not in her hands. Just one more reason to kill the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1