The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   B/R Retreats Towards Home Playe (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97875-b-r-retreats-towards-home-playe.html)

Spence Thu May 08, 2014 12:41pm

B/R Retreats Towards Home Playe
 
R2. Batter bunts. F3 fields bunt. Batter stops before being tagged. She then starts backpedaling to avoid being tagged.

Legal?

Dakota Thu May 08, 2014 12:42pm

No. ASA 8-2-H. NFHS 8-2-8.

Jake26 Thu May 08, 2014 12:50pm

12.2.11 for NCAA

CecilOne Thu May 08, 2014 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 933685)
R2. Batter bunts. F3 fields bunt. Batter stops before being tagged. She then starts backpedaling to avoid being tagged.

Legal?

Batter stops before being tagged. -- Legal

backpedaling to avoid being tagged. -- INT

charliej47 Thu May 08, 2014 01:38pm

:D Last year I called "TIME, That's interference!" I called the batter-runner out and put everyone back to the base they were on.

I later found out that I should have made them return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.:(

Dakota Thu May 08, 2014 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 933693)
...Last year I called "TIME, That's interference!"...(

Baseball?

Rich Ives Thu May 08, 2014 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 933695)
Baseball?

Legal in baseball. Only out if you retreat all the way to the plate.

Dakota Thu May 08, 2014 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 933699)
Legal in baseball. Only out if you retreat all the way to the plate.

I was referring to "TIME" instead of "DEAD BALL"! :)

chapmaja Thu May 08, 2014 11:24pm

IIRC this was called either last year or the year before in the CWS. The batter-runner was trying to gain extra time for the runners advancing, and took a step back. The umpire called it correctly, ruling her out and moving everyone back to the base occupied at the time she took the step backwards towards the plate to avoid the tag.

Jake26 Fri May 09, 2014 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 933725)
... moving everyone back to the base occupied at the time she took the step backwards towards the plate to avoid the tag.

Under NCAA Rules, the runners are moved back to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. (12.2.11 Effect) In the case of a run-and-bunt, the runner has quite possibly reached the next base at the time of the step backwards. I believe this ruling is unique to NCAA.

charliej47 Fri May 09, 2014 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jake26 (Post 933746)
Under NCAA Rules, the runners are moved back to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. (12.2.11 Effect) In the case of a run-and-bunt, the runner has quite possibly reached the next base at the time of the step backwards. I believe this ruling is unique to NCAA.

:D This is how I ruled. Even though I no longer do college softball, I will sometimes enforce their rules for ASA or high school. Lots of times my parner or the coach will inform me that I am applying the wrong rule fi they know the difference.:eek:

Manny A Fri May 09, 2014 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jake26 (Post 933746)
Under NCAA Rules, the runners are moved back to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. (12.2.11 Effect) In the case of a run-and-bunt, the runner has quite possibly reached the next base at the time of the step backwards. I believe this ruling is unique to NCAA.

Which is how it should be, and the other sanctioning bodies should follow suit. After all, the reason a BR would do this is to delay a play on her to let other runners advance. If one or more of those runners do make it to their next base(s) before the BR takes that step back, then the penalty doesn't really have the right effect.

Dakota Fri May 09, 2014 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 933755)
Which is how it should be, and the other sanctioning bodies should follow suit. After all, the reason a BR would do this is to delay a play on her to let other runners advance. If one or more of those runners do make it to their next base(s) before the BR takes that step back, then the penalty doesn't really have the right effect.

I never really understood why this action is illegal in the first place. In every other place on the field, the runner can choose whatever base path she wants... forward, backward, wide arcs, whatever.

I do understand that she cannot retreat to home as a "base", but why is it illegal to retreat as part of any other base-running strategy or purpose?

CecilOne Fri May 09, 2014 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 933755)
Which is how it should be, and the other sanctioning bodies should follow suit. After all, the reason a BR would do this is to delay a play on her to let other runners advance. If one or more of those runners do make it to their next base(s) before the BR takes that step back, then the penalty doesn't really have the right effect.

If the BR action does not help the runner to reach a base ( to their next base(s) before the BR takes that step ); then why should the runner be penalized back to an earlier base?

Manny A Fri May 09, 2014 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 933758)
If the BR action does not help the runner to reach a base ( to their next base(s) before the BR takes that step ); then why should the runner be penalized back to an earlier base?

Ummm, you know what? I didn't even think of it that way.

You're right, the NCAA has it all wrong. :o:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1