The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97624-obstruction.html)

AtlUmpSteve Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 929474)
The DHC cam out and wanted R1 out because R1 would not have made 2nd anyway. I reminded the DHC that this as HS and told him that "no runner may be put out if obstructed between bases but is protected to the base she is running to".:D

I suggest you reread that part of the rule. My book says no such thing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 929482)
When I nullified the out at 2nd base, and awarded the base, the runner did not go back and touch 1st.

I waited for an appeal, but no one said anything.

My partner and I talked about it after the game and he thought that I should have placed the runner back on 1st. I thought I was right.

I agree with your partner. Assuming you believe there needed to be an obstruction award (see below), she is awarded the base the umpire judges she would have reached had there been no obstruction. No way is that second base on this play; clearly she needed to return to first base before advancing to second.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 929478)
If a runner is obstructed returning to a base left too soon, she is not protected back to that base if, in the umpire's judgement, she wouldn't have made it back without the obstruction. She is not automatically protected "between the two bases".

Edit: Charlie, is my interp (above) not applicable in Fed?

a) What you state is not applicable in NFHS. In fact, 8-4-3-b exception 2 specifically states protection if returning, period.

b) The point here is that this play says R1 was obstructed heading away (to 2nd)!! That actually HELPED R1, in that she was not as far from 1st base as she would have been if not obstructed. And the exception 2 does not state protection applied if obstructed headed away; only if returning.

c) So, unless this play was misstated, it appears to me the exception 2 makes R1 out on the live ball appeal they made.
Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 929474)
F3 caught the ball and threw R1 out by 20 feet


jmkupka Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:51pm

Wow... COMPLETELY misread his post as runner leaving 2B early & obstructed coming back.
Gotta pay more attention to my work...

Manny A Fri Mar 28, 2014 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by charliej47 (Post 929474)
I was doing a HS game and a pop-up was hit to F3. R1 was hindered by F4 on the way to 2nd.

You need to stop doing JV...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1