The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   flex batting in 10th spot (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97433-flex-batting-10th-spot.html)

CecilOne Tue Mar 04, 2014 05:17pm

There is NO rule set that allows the FLEX to bat as the FLEX.
AFAIK, all DP/FLEX rules are the same.

There is at least one rule set that allows an AP to bat anywhere in the lineup, in an EP/EH matter; but they have no connection to the DP that goes with the FLEX.

CecilOne Tue Mar 04, 2014 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 925648)
Here's a situation for you, Cecil.

DP is the #1 batter in the order. FLEX is, of course, listed as #10. What if FLEX comes to bat after B9, gets a hit, and before DP (who is on-deck) comes to bat, the defense appeals BOO? :D

Not BOO. If they appeal illegal batter or whatever term applies, ok.

Manny A Wed Mar 05, 2014 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 925712)
Not BOO. If they appeal illegal batter or whatever term applies, ok.

How would you know FLEX batted in the #10 spot, or she batted for the DP in the #1 spot? The fact that the DP is in the on-deck circle is immaterial, is it not? At the time of the appeal, this could be nothing more than an unannounced substitution of the DP. Until the DP physically occupies the batter's box, her status is unknown.

Or is that not true?

CecilOne Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 925756)
How would you know FLEX batted in the #10 spot, or she batted for the DP in the #1 spot? The fact that the DP is in the on-deck circle is immaterial, is it not? At the time of the appeal, this could be nothing more than an unannounced substitution of the DP. Until the DP physically occupies the batter's box, her status is unknown.

Or is that not true?

If DP bats, the FLEX batted as #10, illegal.
If DP does not bat, the FLEX batted in the DP spot.
Either way, not BOO.

MD Longhorn Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 925794)
If DP bats, the FLEX batted as #10, illegal.
If DP does not bat, the FLEX batted in the DP spot.
Either way, not BOO.

Sure, but until DP does something - we have Schroedinger's Cat.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 925805)
Sure, but until DP does something - we have Schroedinger's Cat.

c'mon, Sheldon! Really? You want to do that here? :D

Dakota Wed Mar 05, 2014 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 925794)
If DP bats, the FLEX batted as #10, illegal.
If DP does not bat, the FLEX batted in the DP spot.
Either way, not BOO.

Since the appeal was made before DP takes her position in the batter's box, DP does has not batted before a ruling needs to be made.

Bazinga! :D

CecilOne Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 925814)
Since the appeal was made before DP takes her position in the batter's box, DP does has not batted before a ruling needs to be made.

Bazinga! :D

Fine, unreported change.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1