The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE View Post
IM - we have a league where the guy built his field on his farm, and the RF fence is only about 130 ft from HP - with a 30 ft mesh fence, literally a reverse Fenway (or Baker Bowl throwback if you will). So it is highly possible that on a pop fly during the IFR situation, that the 2B person could go out there with 'ordinary effort', thus triggering the IFR call, and the RF catching the ball like you said.

The situation I am talking about - and is going to actually happen is the pop up to shallow RF/CF/LF, with the SS/2B converging with whatever outfielder is appropriate. Whatever happens after the IFR call is made here is pretty much a moot point, as me and my partner are now concentrating more on the base runners actions. If the CF/LF/RF catch the ball - fine; if they don't - we still have the out, and the runners don't have to tag up.
Why is it I'm not surprised that the response was a non-response?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why is it I'm not surprised that the response was a non-response?
I didn't know how to respond to you either. You asked if a fly ball to the wall was an infield fly. Why would you ask that? Of course not. It didn't require a response.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If the left fielder caught a ball 10 feet short of the fence that was not aided by the wind, would that be an infield fly?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why is it I'm not surprised that the response was a non-response?
What I got from his answer is, "depends on where the fence is."
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
What I got from his answer is, "depends on where the fence is."
DING DING DING - we got a winner!

Its a very fun field to work, as the league plays straight Modified A, using a nice dead Clincher ball. Pop flies that become HRs? Yes! Balls hit off the mesh that become forces at 2B or1B? YES! Still waiting for that first 9-5-3/9-6-3 DP though....

LF, btw, is VERY deep - about 300 ft
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
What I got from his answer is, "depends on where the fence is."
And the beat goes on!
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1