The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 17, 2014, 03:04pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
NFHS Discrepancy on Detached Equip

Question on the award criterion when a fielder touches a thrown ball with her detached glove or other equipment. The Penalty section of FED rule 8-4-3e says the award is two bases from the time of the throw. However, case book play 8.4.3L states that runners are awarded two bases when the detached glove or mitt contacts the thrown ball. Which is correct?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why the Seeming Discrepancy? Freddy Basketball 2 Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:23am
point discrepancy Putty Basketball 18 Sat Jan 13, 2007 02:32am
ASA UNIFORMS & EQUIP. chuck chopper Softball 13 Tue Oct 18, 2005 06:35pm
Pitch Lodged in Umpire's Equip @ HP isneths Baseball 5 Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:48am
Detached Equip - Ball foul BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1