![]() |
|
|||
B/r int
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 1st, no out. B3 hits a lazy foul pop up 20' in the air and 5' to F2's right. R2 stealing on the pitch. PU clearly announces "CATCH", BR trots to a stop 40' up the line, and gets plugged with F2's attempt to double off R2.
What's the call? It is not relevant whether the (retired) BR was in the running lane, correct? Last edited by jmkupka; Sun Oct 27, 2013 at 09:34am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Out of curiosity, what difference would that make?
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
Quote:
Or do you mean that the "turn" and/or the "raise" must have been done to block the throw for it to be INT? EDIT: Forget it... 8.7.P "intentionally". Sorry for wasting your time... Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Oct 28, 2013 at 08:54am. |
|
|||
Quote:
No, a non-action is not an act of interference. Here is a play ASA has used in tests and clinics to give folks an idea. R1 is proceeding to 2B on a ground ball with a 6-4-3 double play possibility. F4 turns to relay the ball to F3 in an attempt to effect a 2nd out on the play. a) throw hits R1 as s/he is advancing to 2B; b) R1 falls prior to F4's throw. As F4 proceeds to make the throw, R1 stands up and is hit by the throw. In a, R1 did not commit an act of interference as s/he was simply advancing to the base to which s/he was forced. Live ball. Scenario b, R1 was already absent from a specific area where F4 was making the throw and by standing, R1 committed an act which interfered with the throw.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether, in my opinion, I agree with the interpretation, it is a terrible way to justify a call. I would almost expect it to come out of the mouth of a coach, not an ASA test creator.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
That said ... in what way do you envision this opening Pandora's Box? If the runner (in the scenario we're talking about) is simply advancing, and doing nothing else, what circumstance could make you think INT was even remotely on the table?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Amen....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Here, I'll open it. To support the allowance of an INT ruling when a runner gets hit with a thrown ball without that runner attempting to get hit, attempting to hit the ball or just do something stupid to interfere with the throw is an idiotic and cowardly interpretation.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|