![]() |
Quote:
The BR is NOT out as soon as the umpire declares an IF. S/he has not lost his/her right to run the bases. The BR is out once the status of the ball has been determined. A pop up in the infield that several defenders converge on that hits in the pitcher's circle and spins untouched by a defender to foul territory is NOT an out despite the umpire's call an IF. That is why I try to suggest to our umpires to simply call "infield fly" or "infield fly if fair" as opposed to "infield fly batter is out". Now back to my search and possibly a new post. |
In NFHS, the BR is out when the ball is hit; a simpler way to rule.
As in, the BR or R is out, on a fly ball or force out, when the ball is caught by the fielder; regardless of how long it takes the umpire to signal or "declare" the out. Given that the ASA rule editing had been screwed up, and has the redundant "J"; it could have been made simpler. :rolleyes: |
Quote:
Cecil: Would you please explain the above sentence that I have highlighted in red? MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'll go back to my contention that the batter is not out until the status of the ball has been determined. Although that may only take a matter of seconds, it does not occur immediately. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
An IF call requires some evaluation quickly because it's not just the batter that's affected, but Base Runners as well. We're just going to disagree on this one... |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am. |