The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Referee Magazine Case Plays (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95064-referee-magazine-case-plays.html)

CecilOne Fri May 17, 2013 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 894630)
The red portions are incorrect for ASA

The proper award is home.

While it is true that once the runner touches an awarded base, she cannot return to touch a base missed or left too soon, it is false that she cannot do so the minute the ball goes dead. This is why umpires are instructed to wait until all obvious attempts of a runner to complete one's base running tasks before announcing an award. If this runner was already beginning to return when the umpire announces the award, she should not be ruled out on the appeal assuming she corrects any errors made in the prior play.

And, as usual, Bretman is correct, a coach cannot make this appeal.

The RM ruling is about a base reached beyond the LTS base, not an awarded one. Does the "can't return" apply to that as well?

CecilOne Fri May 17, 2013 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbsbvb83 (Post 894635)
This was my first issue. If this is a sign of things to come, I have a feeling I won't be renewing my subscription.

But the insurance is worth it, even if you rarely read the mag.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1