The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   USSSA Umpire Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95050-usssa-umpire-interference.html)

jwwashburn Wed May 15, 2013 11:05pm

USSSA Umpire Interference
 
I found mention of Umpire Interference with a catcher's throw but, I cannot find UI when hit by a batted ball.

This rules book is not my favorite layout:D

Robmoz Thu May 16, 2013 01:18am

You won't find it...duck and roll blue!

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 01:47am

you mean red.

EsqUmp Thu May 16, 2013 06:47am

SLOW PITCH
Umpire interference – Occurs when a fair-batted ball strikes the umpire on
fair ground before passing a fielder other than the pitcher.

If the fair batted ball hits the umpire or base runner after passing a fielder
other than the pitcher, or touches any fielder including the pitcher, it remains
in play with all runners being in jeopardy.


The runners must return to their bases when an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball, before it touches a fielder or passes any fielder other than the Pitcher, base runners may be forced to advance if the batter is credited with a hit, thus awarded first base, thereby forcing other runners to advance.

FAST PITCH
Umpire interference is when the Umpire, inadvertently moves so as to
hinder a catcher’s attempt to throw or when a fair, untouched ball touches
an Umpire before the closest infielder has a reasonable opportunity to
field the ball.

It is not Umpire interference if, on a passed ball or wild
pitch, the Umpire gets hit by a thrown ball from the catcher. The ball is
live.

If a fair ball strikes an Umpire after having passed an infielder other than the pitcher, and provided no other fielder had a chance to make an out, or when a fair batted ball has been touched by an infielder, including the pitcher, the ball is in play.

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 08:16am

Thanks, sounds about right....where is it in the book?

Robmoz Thu May 16, 2013 08:50am

In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 08:54am

I cannot imagine.

I saw a guy get hit not that long ago...of course it was after the ball passed an infielder. However, I cannot find it in the book at all

TwoBits Thu May 16, 2013 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robmoz (Post 894430)
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?

My first thought, too!

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 08:56am

Back to the OP....is it in the book?

If I ever get hit, I would like to be able to refer to the actual rule that says play on. I cannot find it.

CecilOne Thu May 16, 2013 09:30am

ASA - 8.1.e
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1

Robmoz Thu May 16, 2013 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jwwashburn (Post 894413)
you mean red.

...or Black:)

MD Longhorn Thu May 16, 2013 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robmoz (Post 894430)
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?

Really REALLY deep F4 or F6. Or conceivably the 5th infielder or extreme shift situation, although I see that being far more likely in baseball.

ASA Ump MN Thu May 16, 2013 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 894440)
ASA - 8.1.e
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1

They must have changed some things in the 2013 USSSA rule book.
:confused:

ASA Ump MN Thu May 16, 2013 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jwwashburn (Post 894434)
Back to the OP....is it in the book?

If I ever get hit, I would like to be able to refer to the actual rule that says play on. I cannot find it.

Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ASA Ump MN (Post 894461)
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!

huh? 8.2? That is the Look Back Rule

It is 8.7.E

CecilOne Thu May 16, 2013 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ASA Ump MN (Post 894461)
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!

Correct, I looked at 11th edition, not 12th. :rolleyes:

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 894464)
Correct, I looked at 11th edition, not 12th. :rolleyes:

Are you guys talking about USSSA? 8.2 is the look back rule.

I actually found it online: http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...013FPRules.pdf Page 45-46

AtlUmpSteve Thu May 16, 2013 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 894453)
Really REALLY deep F4 or F6. Or conceivably the 5th infielder or extreme shift situation, although I see that being far more likely in baseball.

Admittedly know almost nothing about USSSA, but

In NCAA/ASA/NFHS still almost impossible; the interpretation of "in front of" versus "behind" is NOT parallel to the baseline, it is the string theory line between the two closest infielders. Unless F3 and/or F5 are SERIOUSLY deep, and completely ignoring a possible bunt, even really, REALLY deep F4 and F6 are still "in front" of any base umpire, as it applies to this rule.

MD Longhorn Thu May 16, 2013 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 894470)
Admittedly know almost nothing about USSSA, but

In NCAA/ASA/NFHS still almost impossible; the interpretation of "in front of" versus "behind" is NOT parallel to the baseline, it is the string theory line between the two closest infielders. Unless F3 and/or F5 are SERIOUSLY deep, and completely ignoring a possible bunt, even really, REALLY deep F4 and F6 are still "in front" of any base umpire, as it applies to this rule.

U-trip is the same... and while I agree with your "almost" impossible... I was trying to provide an example that gives the "almost" to the answer, as opposed to the answer simply being "impossible".

I can remember a case where, with a superstar LHB, and me in B, I was WAY deep to stay behind the F3-F4 line, both of whom were playing on the grass ... but I could see other umpires potentially staying in a more normal spot and being ahead of that line.

AtlUmpSteve Thu May 16, 2013 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 894479)
U-trip is the same... and while I agree with your "almost" impossible... I was trying to provide an example that gives the "almost" to the answer, as opposed to the answer simply being "impossible".

I can remember a case where, with a superstar LHB, and me in B, I was WAY deep to stay behind the F3-F4 line, both of whom were playing on the grass ... but I could see other umpires potentially staying in a more normal spot and being ahead of that line.

Which could lead to the next rhetorical question, being:

In that positioning, are they still infielders? The ASA definition makes it possible they are not.

ASA Ump MN Thu May 16, 2013 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jwwashburn (Post 894465)
Are you guys talking about USSSA? 8.2 is the look back rule.

I actually found it online: http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...013FPRules.pdf Page 45-46

Yes we are/were talking the 2013 USSSA Slow Pitch rule book.

What a mess...:rolleyes:

Here's a link! I can't remember where I got my 2013 SP copy but it's much better then this one...

http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...SPRuleBook.pdf

jwwashburn Thu May 16, 2013 01:46pm

Ahhhhh, I would rather get hit in the head with a rock than work SP

EsqUmp Thu May 16, 2013 06:37pm

These rule books are free online. Use the "find" option and plug in a key word to help you out.

KJUmp Thu May 16, 2013 07:09pm

USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1[/QUOTE]

And also covered on Pg.20 of the 2013 USSSA Fast Pitch Clarifications and Interpretations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1