The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Runner retreats - FED rules (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/94783-runner-retreats-fed-rules.html)

rbmartin Sat Apr 13, 2013 06:33am

Runner retreats - FED rules
 
I know the Batter/runner may not retreat to avoid a tag (softball only). Does the same apply to a runner already on base at the time of pitch?

grounder Sat Apr 13, 2013 06:45am

no

Manny A Sat Apr 13, 2013 06:46am

No, it does not.

When the BR does it, it is a form of interference, which calls for an immediate dead ball and the BR is out. You won't find anything in the rules that says the same for other runners.

Steve M Sat Apr 13, 2013 08:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 890743)
I know the Batter/runner may not retreat to avoid a tag (softball only). Does the same apply to a runner already on base at the time of pitch?

The only time that the batter-runner may not take a backward step in order to avoid a tag - is between home and first. Any other time, it is legal.

MD Longhorn Sun Apr 14, 2013 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 890743)
I know the Batter/runner may not retreat to avoid a tag (softball only).

Not completely true... and the untrue part is why you've still got the question -
Quote:

Does the same apply to a runner already on base at the time of pitch?
Here's what you're missing...

BR cannot retreat TOWARD HOME to avoid a tag. If BR retreats between 1st and 2nd to avoid a tag, it's completely acceptable (and common, really). Similarly, if any other retreats between any bases other than home and 1st, it's completely acceptable as well.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Apr 14, 2013 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 890857)
Not completely true... and the untrue part is why you've still got the question - Here's what you're missing...

BR cannot retreat TOWARD HOME to avoid a tag. If BR retreats between 1st and 2nd to avoid a tag, it's completely acceptable (and common, really). Similarly, if any other retreats between any bases other than home and 1st, it's completely acceptable as well.

Not to be a smart ass, but in what other direction could a BR "retreat"? :rolleyes: :D

Rich Ives Sun Apr 14, 2013 03:13pm

ASU got hosed on that yesterday. I would have protested if I were the ASU coach.

RKBUmp Sun Apr 14, 2013 03:27pm

How did ASU get hosed? The runner stopped and took a hop backward as F3 went to tag her.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Apr 14, 2013 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 890876)
How did ASU get hosed? The runner stopped and took a hop backward as F3 went to tag her.

Ooh...Ooh...Ooh....Mr. Kotter!!!!!!

Because she hopped, not stepped backwards :rolleyes: ;) :D

RKBUmp Sun Apr 14, 2013 04:36pm

:d

Ok, that was suppose to be a smiley face, dont know why it isnt showing up.

Rich Ives Sun Apr 14, 2013 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 890876)
How did ASU get hosed? The runner stopped and took a hop backward as F3 went to tag her.

2" - BFD. A recovery to balance from the stop, not a deliberate step/hop back.

AND:

12.4.11 When she steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a fielder.

As the tag was made essentially at the same time as the miniscule hop how was the rule violated?

And it took a conference of the umpires and only after the Washington coach brought it up? Not at all an obvious call.

And what purpose is served anyhow - protecting incompetent defenses? Runners can do it elsewhere and it doesn't affect play?

AtlUmpSteve Sun Apr 14, 2013 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 890857)
If BR retreats between 1st and 2nd to avoid a tag, it's completely acceptable (and common, really).

:D:D OK, color me smarta$$, but that isn't possible.

Once a BR has passed first base, that person no longer has the status of BR. At least, according to the definition. ;);)

Manny A Mon Apr 15, 2013 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 890905)
:D:D OK, color me smarta$$, but that isn't possible.

Once a BR has passed first base, that person no longer has the status of BR. At least, according to the definition. ;);)

Perhaps that's the case in ASA. But in FED (and the OP did say this was a FED play) and in NCAA, the BR stays a BR until the play ends.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 15, 2013 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 890864)
Not to be a smart ass, but in what other direction could a BR "retreat"? :rolleyes: :D

In Fed, which is what this question was about... the BR can retreat toward 1st from 2nd, or toward 2nd from 3rd... or toward 3rd from home.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 15, 2013 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 890905)
:D:D OK, color me smarta$$, but that isn't possible.

Once a BR has passed first base, that person no longer has the status of BR. At least, according to the definition. ;);)

I've got my 16-pack Crayolas out... you think that'll be enough? :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1