The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Retouch home after leaving field (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/94361-retouch-home-after-leaving-field.html)

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:33am

Sane: Is the sky blue?
Insane: No, it's orange.
Sane: How can you say that, look right there, it's blue.
Insane: That car between me and the sky is orange. I see orange.
Sane: The car is not the sky. The sky is blue.
Insane: Oranges are orange. Only blueberries are blue.
Sane: We're not talking about oranges or cars, I asked about the sky.
Insane: But blueberries are not the sky. And oranges are juicy.
Sane: What in the world are you talking about?
Insane: The same thing we've been talking about all along - that blueberries are not juicy. Like I've said from the start.

At what point does the sane become insane for trying to engage with the insane?

Insane Blue Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 885772)
Sane: Is the sky blue?
Insane: No, it's orange.
Sane: How can you say that, look right there, it's blue.
Insane: That car between me and the sky is orange. I see orange.
Sane: The car is not the sky. The sky is blue.
Insane: Oranges are orange. Only blueberries are blue.
Sane: We're not talking about oranges or cars, I asked about the sky.
Insane: But blueberries are not the sky. And oranges are juicy.
Sane: What in the world are you talking about?
Insane: The same thing we've been talking about all along - that blueberries are not juicy. Like I've said from the start.

At what point does the sane become insane for trying to engage with the insane?

I don't know you tell us since you seem to be the one who has not backed up you position with any rule references. I have looked over a lot of post on this board and normally you seem to be very astute. But in my judgment you have not been on this thread.

With that I am done on this thread.

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:38pm

Don't take that as a personal attack - "Insane" wasn't meant to be specifically you, despite the commonality of the moniker.

Just saying that the sane trying to reason with the insane is, in itself, insane.

CecilOne Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:40pm

Some posters are bordering on personal attacks versus polite and objective which we expect on this forum. :(
Please keep it under control! :o

Insane Blue Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 885795)
Don't take that as a personal attack - "Insane" wasn't meant to be specifically you, despite the commonality of the moniker.

Just saying that the sane trying to reason with the insane is, in itself, insane.

Cool I wont then.

EsqUmp Wed Jul 17, 2013 06:37pm

This was the official interpretation from this lively discussion from May:

Runner Missing Home Plate:

Play: With R1 on 2B, B2 gets a base hit to RF. R1 scores but misses home plate. After entering the dugout, R1 returns to touch home plate and draws a throw. On the throw to the plate, B2 advances to 2B.
Ruling: Once a player enters dead ball territory, they are not permitted to come out of the dugout to touch home plate. When R1 did so and drew a throw, R1 was guilty of Interference by a retired runner. The ball is dead and B2 is ruled out. If the defense properly appeals that R1 missed home plate, R1 would also be ruled out.

CecilOne Wed Jul 17, 2013 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 900281)
This was the official interpretation from this lively discussion from May:
.

from who?

Didn't we have an official ruling on March 21?

EsqUmp Thu Jul 18, 2013 06:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 900286)
from who?

Didn't we have an official ruling on March 21?


ASA Rule Clarifications/Interpretations.

I wouldn't consider an incompletely ask/reply/copy/paste job an official interpretation.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 18, 2013 07:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 900281)
This was the official interpretation from this lively discussion from May:

Runner Missing Home Plate:

Play: With R1 on 2B, B2 gets a base hit to RF. R1 scores but misses home plate. After entering the dugout, R1 returns to touch home plate and draws a throw. On the throw to the plate, B2 advances to 2B.
Ruling: Once a player enters dead ball territory, they are not permitted to come out of the dugout to touch home plate. When R1 did so and drew a throw, R1 was guilty of Interference by a retired runner. The ball is dead and B2 is ruled out. If the defense properly appeals that R1 missed home plate, R1 would also be ruled out.

And if it was a live ball appeal?

EsqUmp Thu Jul 18, 2013 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 900306)
And if it was a live ball appeal?

Yeah?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1