The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   rules help needed - 3 of them (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/9428-rules-help-needed-3-them.html)

softballpres33 Tue Jul 22, 2003 09:56am

Can you please help me with these.

1. Last night a game ends in a tie. It goes into extra innings and the visiting team puts their last out on 2nd to start the inning. The home team was playing with 8 players (2. Is this okay also? Can a game be started with only 8 players in ASA?) the last out of the inning before was the automatic out. Does the home team get to put the person before the automatic out on base or do they not get to put a person on 2nd?
3. A ball is hit straight up in the air. The umpire tries to get out of the road of the catcher but actually gets more in the way. The catcher misses the ball but the umpire calls the batter out because he calls interference on himself. I thought the umpire was just part of the field.

Dakota Tue Jul 22, 2003 10:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by softballpres33
The home team was playing with 8 players. Is this okay also? Can a game be started with only 8 players in ASA?
Yes, it is OK. The team takes an out when #9 is due up to bat.
Quote:

the last out of the inning before was the automatic out. Does the home team get to put the person before the automatic out on base or do they not get to put a person on 2nd?
The person who goes on base is not actually the "last out" - it is the person who bats before the batter due up. This can be a difference, depending on how the last inning ended. Anyway, if the absent player is the player who should be placed on 2nd, then the team merely places the person who bats before the absent player on. There is no penalty for this.
Quote:

A ball is hit straight up in the air. The umpire tries to get out of the road of the catcher but actually gets more in the way. The catcher misses the ball but the umpire calls the batter out because he calls interference on himself. I thought the umpire was just part of the field.
This was an incorrect ruling. There are only 2 very secific things that are ruled umpire interference, and this play is not one of them. The correct call should have been FOUL BALL or FAIR BALL (depending on where the ball was touched / stopped).

bluezebra Tue Jul 22, 2003 02:01pm

"The home team was playing with 8 players (2. Is this okay also? Can a game be started with only 8 players in ASA?)"

A team MUST start with nine (9) players. This game should never have started.

"A ball is hit straight up in the air. The umpire tries to get out of the road of the catcher but actually gets more in the way. The catcher misses the ball but the umpire calls the batter out because he calls interference on himself. I thought the umpire was just part of the field."

The umpire is an idiot, and should not be allowed to work again without being thoroughly trained.

Bob

Dakota Tue Jul 22, 2003 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra
"The home team was playing with 8 players (2. Is this okay also? Can a game be started with only 8 players in ASA?)"

A team MUST start with nine (9) players. This game should never have started.

Assuming ASA fastpitch, this is not correct. ASA 4-1D-a and ASA POE 46 both make it clear the team may start with 8.

For slow pitch, a full team is 10, so the team may start with 9.

softballpres33 Tue Jul 22, 2003 02:26pm

Did this recently change because I was sure that it use to be that a team had to have 9 to start or has this always been the rule?

Dakota Tue Jul 22, 2003 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by softballpres33
Did this recently change because I was sure that it use to be that a team had to have 9 to start or has this always been the rule?
It was not a change for 2003, but I think you are correct - 9 used to be required to start. I don't have my older books with me, though, to confirm or refute that or to tell you when it changed.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 22, 2003 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra
"The home team was playing with 8 players (2. Is this okay also? Can a game be started with only 8 players in ASA?)"

A team MUST start with nine (9) players. This game should never have started.

"A ball is hit straight up in the air. The umpire tries to get out of the road of the catcher but actually gets more in the way. The catcher misses the ball but the umpire calls the batter out because he calls interference on himself. I thought the umpire was just part of the field."

The umpire is an idiot, and should not be allowed to work again without being thoroughly trained.

Bob

Well, he kicked the rule concerning interference, but at least he properly allowed the game to start. ASA has been using the shorthanded rule for a few years now.


CecilOne Tue Jul 22, 2003 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by softballpres33
Can you please help me with these.

1. Last night a game ends in a tie. It goes into extra innings and the visiting team puts their last out on 2nd to start the inning. The home team was playing with 8 players (2. ... snip ... Does the home team get to put the person before the automatic out on base or do they not get to put a person on 2nd?
... snip ...

The tie-breaker runner is the player schedule to bat last in the inning, no matter how many are in the game. That batter is the one least likely to still be on base when it is their turn to bat.

CecilOne Tue Jul 22, 2003 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by softballpres33
Did this recently change because I was sure that it use to be that a team had to have 9 to start or has this always been the rule?
It was not a change for 2003, but I think you are correct - 9 used to be required to start. I don't have my older books with me, though, to confirm or refute that or to tell you when it changed.

I think the shorthanded rule was changed about 3 years ago, so my guess is 2000, if it matters.

SamNVa Tue Jul 22, 2003 06:35pm

Nope it wasn't 2000. The rule in the 2000 book (4.1.D.1.a if anyone cares) says: <i>A game may begin or end with one less than the number reuired to play.</i>

SamC

whiskers_ump Tue Jul 22, 2003 09:04pm

If anyone cares, Rule 4 Sec 1-D(1) (2) came into effect
in 99.

glen


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1