The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Bases loaded walk... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/93842-bases-loaded-walk.html)

jmkupka Sat Feb 02, 2013 01:40pm

Bases loaded walk...
 
... is R1 forced home or awarded home? I read this discussion here in the past, can't find it. Showed up on a quiz at my first meeting.

Bases loaded, 2 out. Ball 4, R1 trots home, R2 sprints to 3rd and rounds it, picked off at 3rd before R1 touches home plate. Run counts?

Big Slick Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 876559)
... is R1 forced home or awarded home? I read this discussion here in the past, can't find it. Showed up on a quiz at my first meeting.

Bases loaded, 2 out. Ball 4, R1 trots home, R2 sprints to 3rd and rounds it, picked off at 3rd before R1 touches home plate. Run counts?

ASA, the run would not score. NCAA, the run scores. I'm not 100% positive, however I believe the NFHS ruling is the run scores.

Crabby_Bob Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 876777)
[...] I'm not 100% positive, however I believe the NFHS ruling is the run scores.

It does. Case play 9.1.1D: With two outs and R1, R2 and R3 on base, B6 receives ball four. R3 touches second and is then tagged off base for the third out before R1 has reached home base. RULING: The run scores; R1 was awarded home as soon as ball four was declared. (8-4-3a Effect; 9-1-1 Exception b)

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 04, 2013 01:37pm

(If anyone cares, this also has different rulings amongst the various baseball rulesets as well)

jmkupka Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:23pm

Thanks for the reply... any citation in ASA rules I can refer to on this? I got this answer marked wrong, & I did say 3 outs, no run scores.

CecilOne Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:42pm

Why is ASA different, philosophy or just incidental diff? :confused:

MD Longhorn Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:51pm

You're looking for a rule cite to prove a negative. 8-1-C says that when a batter receives four balls, she is awarded first base. 8-5-A says that runners may advance without liability to be put out when forced to vacate their base due to the batter receiving a base on balls.

You're not going to find a rule that says, runners are NOT awarded a base when forced to vacate their bases due to a batter receiving a base on balls.

Just that they are allowed to advance 1 base. Therefore, if someone gets out before a teammate crosses the plate, just like any other time in the game, the run does not score.

MD Longhorn Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 877168)
Why is ASA different, philosophy or just incidental diff? :confused:

The ASA ruling is self-consistent (as described in my last post). NCAA and FED rulings are not consistent with the rest of their rules.

So my question would be - why is everyone else different?

jmkupka Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:58pm

Exactly Mike, that's why my OP started with the force/award question. The test I took was PONY rules; I will check to see if PONY considers all the runners forced to advance. If so, then I can assume the same interp as ASA.

Blackie Thu Feb 07, 2013 04:33am

Here is the ruling from the ISF.

R1’s run does not count. See ISF Rule 7 a “one run shall be scored each time a runner legally touches first, second, third bases and home plate before the third out of the inning.” Since R2 was picked off at 3rd base before R1 touched home plate, the run does not score.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 07, 2013 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 877168)
Why is ASA different, philosophy or just incidental diff? :confused:

Because ASA rules award a base to the batter, not runners. Only runners forced may advance without liability to be put out, but ONLY to the base forced. Rules specifically note that the runner is in jeopardy should s/he attempt to advance beyond that base.

ASA rules also specifically note that a run cannot score after the 3rd out of the half inning has been executed.

Manny A Thu Feb 07, 2013 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 876815)
It does. Case play 9.1.1D: With two outs and R1, R2 and R3 on base, B6 receives ball four. R3 touches second and is then tagged off base for the third out before R1 has reached home base. RULING: The run scores; R1 was awarded home as soon as ball four was declared. (8-4-3a Effect; 9-1-1 Exception b)

I don't know why this NFHS case play cites 9-1-1 Exception b to justify the call. That Exception simply addresses that a run does not count if the third out is a force out. There is no force out in this case play, so citing it is bogus.

Also, 9-1-1 Exception f covers when a runner crosses the plate after a preceding runner is declared the third out. That's what happened here. If NFHS wants the run to score in this situation, it needs to have an Exception to this Exception so that it's clear, such as:

"f. when a runner crosses home plate after a preceding runner is declared the third out, unless that runner is forced home because the batter was awarded first base."

HugoTafurst Thu Feb 07, 2013 02:52pm

[QUOTE=Manny A;877630]
(snip)
it needs to have an Exception to this Exception so that it's clear, such as:
(snip)

"exception to this exception" I like that. ;-)

CecilOne Thu Feb 07, 2013 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 877630)
I don't know why this NFHS case play cites 9-1-1 Exception b to justify the call. That Exception simply addresses that a run does not count if the third out is a force out. There is no force out in this case play, so citing it is bogus.

Also, 9-1-1 Exception f covers when a runner crosses the plate after a preceding runner is declared the third out. That's what happened here. If NFHS wants the run to score in this situation, it needs to have an Exception to this Exception so that it's clear, such as:

"f. when a runner crosses home plate after a preceding runner is declared the third out, unless that runner is forced home because the batter was awarded first base."

The OP is about a succeeding runner.

CecilOne Thu Feb 07, 2013 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 877623)
Because ASA rules award a base to the batter, not runners. Only runners forced may advance without liability to be put out, but ONLY to the base forced. Rules specifically note that the runner is in jeopardy should s/he attempt to advance beyond that base.

ASA rules also specifically note that a run cannot score after the 3rd out of the half inning has been executed.

Isn't "Only runners forced may advance without liability to be put out, but ONLY to the base forced" true in all codes?
.................................................. ..................

So R1 des not score because the third out occurred before R1 reached HP.
Still wonder if "philosophy or just incidental diff?"
.................................................. ..................

Also, for others, other codes also say a run cannot score after the 3rd out.
I guess I need to go to the books.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Feb 07, 2013 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 877767)
Isn't "Only runners forced may advance without liability to be put out, but ONLY to the base forced" true in all codes?
.................................................. ..................

So R1 des not score because the third out occurred before R1 reached HP.
Still wonder if "philosophy or just incidental diff?"
.................................................. ..................

Also, for others, other codes also say a run cannot score after the 3rd out.
I guess I need to go to the books.

You can check all the books. You won't find any real justification for the run scoring when the third out is made before the run scores other than a case book ruling by DA in NCAA and MS in NFHS. No where is there logic for runners awarded bases on a walk to the batter, they are simply advanced by force; a force that disappears when a trailing runner is put out!

In fact, if they were all awarded bases, wouldn't they advance even when NOT forced? And, wouldn't the run NOT score if a runner failed to advance and that (force) was appealed for the third out? How is that consistent, or logical?

Roger Greene Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:46am

Fed (NFHS) 8-4-3a Effect

"Art.3 . . . A runner is entitled to advance without libility to be put out when:
a. forced to vacate a base because the batter was awarded first base.
Effect: (F.P.) The ball remains in play unless it is blocked. Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play. (S.P.) The ball is dead."

Play 9.1.1 Situation D
"With two outs and R1, R2, and R3 on base, B6 receivs ball four. R3 touches second and is then tagged off base for the third out before R1 has reached home base. Ruling:The run scores; R1 was awarded home as soon as ball four was declared. (8-1-3a Effect; 9-1-1 Exception b). "

:D

IRISHMAFIA Fri Feb 08, 2013 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roger Greene (Post 877879)
Fed (NFHS) 8-4-3a Effect

"Art.3 . . . A runner is entitled to advance without libility to be put out when:
a. forced to vacate a base because the batter was awarded first base.
Effect: (F.P.) The ball remains in play unless it is blocked. Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play. (S.P.) The ball is dead."

Play 9.1.1 Situation D
"With two outs and R1, R2, and R3 on base, B6 receivs ball four. R3 touches second and is then tagged off base for the third out before R1 has reached home base. Ruling:The run scores; R1 was awarded home as soon as ball four was declared. (8-1-3a Effect; 9-1-1 Exception b). "

:D

Who left the gate open and let this stranger wander in here? :D

Manny A Fri Feb 08, 2013 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 877765)
The OP is about a succeeding runner.

True. But I think the use of the word "preceding" in the rule is meant to address a situation just like the OP. Otherwise, how in the world does a runner cross home plate after an actual preceding runner is declared out?

Hmmmm... Am I thinking that 9-1-1f should have said "succeeding" instead of "preceeding" runner? :eek:

Roger Greene Fri Feb 08, 2013 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 877924)
Who left the gate open and let this stranger wonder in here? :D

Hey, I'm still on the top side of the grass! (Although I'm getting old.)

I drop by here occasionally to see if ya'll are still around.
:cool:

IRISHMAFIA Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roger Greene (Post 877969)
Hey, I'm still on the top side of the grass! (Although I'm getting old.)

I drop by here occasionally to see if ya'll are still around.
:cool:

Good for you. You should stop by more often.

Steve M Sat Feb 09, 2013 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 877984)
Good for you. You should stop by more often.

agreed

AtlUmpSteve Sat Feb 09, 2013 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roger Greene (Post 877879)
Fed (NFHS) 8-4-3a Effect

"Art.3 . . . A runner is entitled to advance without libility to be put out when:
a. forced to vacate a base because the batter was awarded first base.
Effect: (F.P.) The ball remains in play unless it is blocked. Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play. (S.P.) The ball is dead."

Play 9.1.1 Situation D
"With two outs and R1, R2, and R3 on base, B6 receivs ball four. R3 touches second and is then tagged off base for the third out before R1 has reached home base. Ruling:The run scores; R1 was awarded home as soon as ball four was declared. (8-1-3a Effect; 9-1-1 Exception b). "

:D

Yet, the rule you cite clearly does NOT state the base is an award; "entitled to advance" should not supercede other rules which make the run unscored if the third out is made prior to the run actually crossing the plate.

Nor is it listed with "awards".

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 11, 2013 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 878107)
Yet, the rule you cite clearly does NOT state the base is an award; "entitled to advance" should not supercede other rules which make the run unscored if the third out is made prior to the run actually crossing the plate.

Nor is it listed with "awards".

Yes... I agree that "clearly" the run should not score in NHFS... yet their own published cases and clarifications scores the run, despite the utter lack of rules support.

Crabby_Bob Mon Feb 11, 2013 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 878462)
Yes... I agree that "clearly" the run should not score in NHFS... yet their own published cases and clarifications scores the run, despite the utter lack of rules support.

I'm not a fan of the NFHS interpretation of this situation, yet they appear to be relying on the following part of the EFFECT: Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play.

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 11, 2013 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 878473)
I'm not a fan of the NFHS interpretation of this situation, yet they appear to be relying on the following part of the EFFECT: Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play.

Being entitle to one base is completely different than being awarded one base... but this Don Quixote stopped trying to bash this windmill long ago.

Umpteenth Fri May 24, 2013 09:53am

Walk-Off Bases Loaded BB
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 877172)
You're looking for a rule cite to prove a negative. 8-1-C says that when a batter receives four balls, she is awarded first base. 8-5-A says that runners may advance without liability to be put out when forced to vacate their base due to the batter receiving a base on balls.

You're not going to find a rule that says, runners are NOT awarded a base when forced to vacate their bases due to a batter receiving a base on balls.

Just that they are allowed to advance 1 base. Therefore, if someone gets out before a teammate crosses the plate, just like any other time in the game, the run does not score.

I don't want to start a new thread because this is very similar.

ASA Rules (Slow pitch, but shouldn't make a difference)
Tie game, home team at bat, bases loaded, 2 outs.
Batter is awarded a base on balls. Runners advance due to being forced to vacate current base. R1 crosses home plate, BR touches 1st, and R2 touches 3rd; R3 does not complete his base-running responsibilities, does not touch 2B and joins his team mates for the post-game congratulations. Umpires get together and leave the field.

Once R3 leaves live ball territory (assuming umpires were still on the field), it seems the defense could make an appeal that R3 didn't touch 2nd, which would be 3rd out and the score would still be tied and moves to the next inning. (Reasoning - R3 is "entitled" to advance (not awarded) and therefore, must complete base-running responsibilities.)

CecilOne Fri May 24, 2013 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpteenth (Post 895357)
I don't want to start a new thread because this is very similar.

ASA Rules (Slow pitch, but shouldn't make a difference)
Tie game, home team at bat, bases loaded, 2 outs.
Batter is awarded a base on balls. Runners advance due to being forced to vacate current base. R1 crosses home plate, BR touches 1st, and R2 touches 3rd; R3 does not complete his base-running responsibilities, does not touch 2B and joins his team mates for the post-game congratulations. Umpires get together and leave the field.

Once R3 leaves live ball territory (assuming umpires were still on the field), it seems the defense could make an appeal that R3 didn't touch 2nd, which would be 3rd out and the score would still be tied and moves to the next inning. (Reasoning - R3 is "entitled" to advance (not awarded) and therefore, must complete base-running responsibilities.)

Assuming last or extra inning, doesn't the game end when the winning run scores because in ASA this becomes an appeal which would be ruled after the score?

Umpteenth Fri May 24, 2013 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 895359)
Assuming last or extra inning, doesn't the game end when the winning run scores because in ASA this becomes an appeal which would be ruled after the score?

Correct assumption concerning the inning - either bottom of last inning, or bottom of extra inning.

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 24, 2013 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 895359)
Assuming last or extra inning, doesn't the game end when the winning run scores because in ASA this becomes an appeal which would be ruled after the score?

Why is this an appeal?

Is it a missed base, violating 8.7-G (which would be an appeal) or, by referencing leaving live ball territory, haven't you actually judged this a violation of 8.7-U, abandoning?

Man up, guys (and gals); you need to make this call if it happens, not hope the visiting team doesn't appeal. :o:o

HugoTafurst Fri May 24, 2013 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 895369)
Why is this an appeal?

Is it a missed base, violating 8.7-G (which would be an appeal) or, by referencing leaving live ball territory, haven't you actually judged this a violation of 8.7-U, abandoning?

Man up, guys (and gals); you need to make this call if it happens, not hope the visiting team doesn't appeal. :o:o

Didn't R1 score before R3 entered dead ball territory?

MD Longhorn Fri May 24, 2013 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 895380)
Didn't R1 score before R3 entered live ball territory?

(Didn't R3 START in live ball territory! :) )

A run cannot score when... blah blah blah ... FORCED ... blah blah blah.

UmpireErnie Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 895369)
Why is this an appeal?

Is it a missed base, violating 8.7-G (which would be an appeal) or, by referencing leaving live ball territory, haven't you actually judged this a violation of 8.7-U, abandoning?

Man up, guys (and gals); you need to make this call if it happens, not hope the visiting team doesn't appeal. :o:o

If it's a "walk off" base-on-balls the players will probably not leave the field for a bit. There is the celebrating and usually the handshake ritual. I am going to watch the runners touch (or not touch in this case) the next base. If there is no appeal forthcoming we (the umpires) are going to take our leave. Once we leave it's too late. R3 is still on the field and still has not touched the next base which she was forced to. Too bad. Game over.

I suppose if I call "ball" (four) and R3 turns and runs directly into dugout to get glove for next inning thinking it was strike three you could rule abandonment.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1