The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
I'm with ChampagneBlue... somewhat. This sounds like incidental contact.

When was the contact between BR and F3? And where were the runners?

After the throw had arrived and been missed by F3 - incidental contact. Play on.

Before the throw arrived and the contact caused F3 to miss the catch - interference, BR is out, runners stop advancing at time of interference and must return to last base touched (runner from 3rd may have already scored - count it).

If the contact was intentional then based upon the severity and its timing, I might:
Send runners back to 2nd and 3rd, BR out.
Eject BR for malicious contact and stop play at time of interference - possibly allow runner from 3rd to score. Maybe not, too.
Call dead ball and leave BR at 1st but call runner from 3rd out for the BR's interference and the defense's potential play at home.

Anything besides the first two possibilities will require decisive umpire judgement and confidence to sell those out of the ordinary calls.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1