![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Also, from the mechanics manual: In the section marked "FP with runners on second and third" BASE UMPIRE. . . . 4. On all balls hit through the infield or to the outfield that you do not go out on, immediately come inside the diamond, button hook and take the batter-runner all the way to third base. And in the preamble to the two umpire system: "The PLATE UMPIRE should be prepared to take a share of the base plays. The lead runner, if there is more than one on the bases, it he plate umpire's responsibility. . . . If there are two runners on base and the next batter hits for extra bases which will score the lead runner without a play, the plate umpire pays little attention other than noting that the runner touched third base and the plate. Attention then is directed to the second runner and the play that may be made. The BASE UMPIRE meanwhile ascertains that all runners touch second and First Bases (sic) and takes whatever plays are made on the batter-runner." Furthermore: "There are four times a base umpire will make a call at third base: 1. On the batter-runner on a triple with no runners on base. 2. One the last runner into third base. 3. On a lone runner on fly ball advancement. 4. On any return throw from the plate area or a cut-off by a player." Therefore, in the OP, BU does not have responsibility on R2 once she advances to third, and must pick up the BR. If, in the OP, the catch was made, then BU would take R2 into third (that's a combination of #2 and #3). Your comment may be referring to #4, but this is not the OP. |
|
|||
Quote:
"By the book PU should be there unless there is a throw that takes them home. BU by the book covers a play on a lead runner at 3B if there is a throw that is returning from home, or cut off while on it's way to home and then thrown to 3B to make a play. In a follow up thread you asked to not worry about if there was a throw, well you can't disreguard this fact since it changes the coverage. Ex. If bases are loaded and there is a base hit to the outfield the PU should move into the holding zone and read the play being ready to move into position at 3B or home depending on what happens. IF there is going to be a play at the plate then PU needs to move toward the plate and take that play, any subsquent play on a throw being returned to 3B from the plate area will be the BU's call on R2. Now if R1 is going to score with no play the PU should stay in the holding zone and see the touch of home over their shoulder while preparing for a play at 3B on another lead runner. So the quick answer to your question is, if there is a play at the plate (which could just be a throw to the plate) on a lead runner, then as a BU you know you have to cover a return throw to 3B on another runner. If there isn't a play/throw toward home then by the book PU should have that play at 3B. Still always a good idea to look, could be possible PU got fooled and thought there was a play developing at plate and you may be in a better position to take the call but as always this is a deviation so COMMUNICATE and make sure it's clear you are taking that call at 3B. "
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|