The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batter Obstructed by Catcher Enters Dugout (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/92741-batter-obstructed-catcher-enters-dugout.html)

Manny A Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:56am

Batter Obstructed by Catcher Enters Dugout
 
I had an interesting situation in an 18U rec league game last night. Runner on first, and batter swings and hits the catcher's mitt. She also grounds the ball to F3. F3 picks up the ball, steps on first base, and then throws to make a play on R1 at second (BTW, because of what I was told here in a recent discussion, I didn't kill play as soon as the obstructed batter was retired ;)).

In true fashion for rec league ball, the throw goes over F6's head. F7 retrieves the ball, and throws to F5 to play on R1 who is now trying for third. R2 is safe at third on the throw.

I call Time, go to explain to the offensive coach that I had catcher's obstruction, and offer him his options. He decides to go with the penalty to put runners on first and second. Out of the dugout comes the batter to occupy first.

So now I remember that a rule (ASA 8-2-D) calls for a batter-runner to be called out if she enters the dugout area after a catcher's obstruction. But I can't imagine that this would apply in this situation, since the batter had no idea she was obstructed. I let the runners take their bases, and played on.

I checked the rule book after the game, and found 8-2-D. But it provides no guidance how it applies.

So, why does the rule on a batter entering her dugout include catcher's obstruction? How is she and her coach supposed to know the obstruction occurred, and she's supposed to stay in the field of play until the infraction is adjudicated?

Andy Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:09pm

My opinion only and how I would explain it if asked:

Catcher's Obstruction is a delayed dead ball. As long as the batter tried to reach first base when she hit the ball, I believe she is OK. Since the play you presented took so long to resolve due to the overthrows, you can't offer the options to the offensive coach until the play is over. The B/R, believing she is out, heads to the dugout as usual. Since the B/R did not reach first base, you will have to offer the option to the OC.

Once the OC decided to take the penalty and you announce the award, if the B/R then decided to stay in the dugout (and I can't see why she would), you would be correct in declaring her out.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 859721)
So now I remember that a rule (ASA 8-2-D) calls for a batter-runner to be called out if she enters the dugout area after a catcher's obstruction. But I can't imagine that this would apply in this situation, since the batter had no idea she was obstructed. I let the runners take their bases, and played on.

I checked the rule book after the game, and found 8-2-D. But it provides no guidance how it applies.

So, why does the rule on a batter entering her dugout include catcher's obstruction? How is she and her coach supposed to know the obstruction occurred, and she's supposed to stay in the field of play until the infraction is adjudicated?

Think about it. Was the player an active participant at the time she entered the dugout or was she a retired BR?

MD Longhorn Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:15pm

I think you're both right.

It does beck or beg or bake or whatever the question ...
Why is "catcher obstruction" in this rule at all? In what kind of scenario would it apply?

Manny A Tue Oct 23, 2012 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 859727)
Think about it. Was the player an active participant at the time she entered the dugout or was she a retired BR?

In this case, she was a retired BR. So perhaps I was covered here.

But I'm still questioning the logic of specifically including catcher's obstruction in the rule. Let's say she was an "active participant", as you suggest, after the obstruction. She could only be active for one of three reasons:

1. She batted the ball fairly despite the obstruction
2. She was issued a base on balls, where she checked her swing and hit the catcher's mitt in the process
3. She swung and hit the mitt but missed the pitch for an uncaught third strike

But those three reasons are already covered by the rule. And if she did enter the dugout after the obstruction, I would think she would be subsequently awarded first base due to the obstruction if the offensive coach accepted the penalty. In other words, catcher's obstruction should be an exception to the rule, not another example of when to call an out.

So, what gives with having this listed in 8-2-D?

Crabby_Bob Tue Oct 23, 2012 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 859731)
...
Why is "catcher obstruction" in this rule [8.2.D] at all? In what kind of scenario would it apply?


Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 859753)
...
And if she did enter the dugout after the obstruction, I would think she would be subsequently awarded first base due to the obstruction if the offensive coach accepted the penalty. In other words, catcher's obstruction should be an exception to the rule, not another example of when to call an out.

So, what gives with having this [CO] listed in 8-2-D?

I think Andy has it. Also, CO is one of the ways a batter becomes a BR (see 8.1.D) and 8.2.D applies to the BR failing to advance to first.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1