The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   What do you have! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/92130-what-do-you-have.html)

Dakota Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 850820)
...No different than other grey areas in the rules, Tom. Umpires have to decide what bases runners could have reached minus an obstruction. They have to judge whether or not another fielder might have made an out on a batted ball that gets by an initial fielder and contacts a runner. They have to read a runner's mind when she keeps running after being retired. It's why we get paid the big bux.

Except that there has been a concerted effort in recent years to remove intent from all interference rules. There are one or two exceptions remaining, but this effort was based on the difficulty of reading minds. Basing the interference call on the act, not on the intent, has been the direction. That's another reason why this particular case play seems out of step.

tcannizzo Thu Aug 02, 2012 01:52pm

By rule, without requiring any mind-reading for intent, nor is it a gray area.

Quote:

FOUL BALL: A batted ball that:
A. Settles or is touched (not caught) on or over foul territory between home and first base or between home and third base.
B. Bounds or rolls past first or third base on or over foul territory.

C. While over foul territory, touches the person, attached or detached equipment or clothing of a player or an umpire, or any object foreign to the natural ground.
D. While over foul territory, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball.
E. First hits the ground over foul territory beyond first or third base.
F. Touches the batter or the bat in the batter's hand(s) a second time while the batter is within the batter's box.
G. Goes directly. from the bat to any part of the catcher's body or equipment and is caught by another fielder.
H. Hits the pitcher's plate and rolls untouched to foul territory before reaching first or third base.


IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 02, 2012 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 850800)

I also contend that under ASA RS #24A, the batter is out for 1. and 2. under ASA. The supplement says, "If, when the bat contacts the ball [a second time] a batter’s entire foot is completely outside the batter’s box, the batter is out." In my 1. and 2., the batter is running up the first base line and intentionally hits the ball with the bat, so she clearly has a foot out of the batter's box. Or am I wrong in my assumption in what the RS language intends here?

If it is indeed an out in ASA for 1. and 2., then why isn't it an out for 3? That's where I feel the rulings are inconsistent in ASA.

To start #24: When considering the act of a batter hitting the PITCHED ball a second time

A doesn't mention it, but 7.6.K specifically notes this is referring to a FAIR ball.

You can turn this anyway you want, ASA does not forbid either the offense or defense contacting a foul ball.

youngump Fri Aug 03, 2012 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 850862)
To start #24: When considering the act of a batter hitting the PITCHED ball a second time

I find the bolded terminology strange and confusing. It's not a pitched ball anymore. You hit a batted ball a second time (or for the first time as a batted ball.)

IRISHMAFIA Fri Aug 03, 2012 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 850923)
I find the bolded terminology strange and confusing. It's not a pitched ball anymore. You hit a batted ball a second time (or for the first time as a batted ball.)

I don't disagree this could be confusing, but my belief is that in this case the reference is to a pitched ball has been hit by the bat, but has not yet reached a discernible point where the ball has gained a defined status of fair or foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1