The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   A New One for Me (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/92116-new-one-me.html)

MountieSB Tue Jul 24, 2012 06:39pm

A New One for Me
 
Let me preface this by saying I'm learning!

ASA rules: One out, R1 on first base. BR hits a little bloop in front of F3 that hits the ground (ground ball). F3 scoops the ball, touches first base. R1 (who was off the bag getting her lead on the pitch) returns to first base thinking F3 caught the ball in the air. F3 tags R1 who was standing on the bag at the time F3 tagged her.

1. What's the call?
2. Does the call differ in NFHS rules (or any other set of rules for that matter)?

Thanks!

RKBUmp Tue Jul 24, 2012 06:40pm

Batter/runner out, runner standing on 1st is safe. Same for all rulesets.

MountieSB Tue Jul 24, 2012 07:01pm

Thanks RKBUmp
 
Here was the call on the field (I was a true spectator, not an umpire, coach, or parent - completely a disinterested party):

Both R1 and BR were called out.

Because I was just watching and didn't hear the explanation on the field, after the game I asked the umpire why there were two outs (because I'm still learning). He said with less than two outs, on a ground ball hit anywhere, a runner on first base (R1) has to advance to second base - she has no option. Once R1 achieves second base, she could return to first base by touching the bases in reverse order. His answer was confident, so I didn't question further.

RKBUmp Tue Jul 24, 2012 07:24pm

And he would be wrong. The runner is forced off of 1st base, however, the moment the batter/runner was put out the force is removed and the runner is free to return to 1st base. Nothing in the rules requires the runner to advance all the way to 2nd before they can return to 1st.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 24, 2012 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MountieSB (Post 849834)
Here was the call on the field (I was a true spectator, not an umpire, coach, or parent - completely a disinterested party):

Both R1 and BR were called out.

Because I was just watching and didn't hear the explanation on the field, after the game I asked the umpire why there were two outs (because I'm still learning). He said with less than two outs, on a ground ball hit anywhere, a runner on first base (R1) has to advance to second base - she has no option. Once R1 achieves second base, she could return to first base by touching the bases in reverse order. His answer was confident, so I didn't question further.

Isn't it interesting that people who are so wrong also seem to be so confident? ;)

MountieSB Tue Jul 24, 2012 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 849837)
Isn't it interesting that people who are so wrong also seem to be so confident? ;)

Story of my life, man. :)

CecilOne Wed Jul 25, 2012 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 849837)
Isn't it interesting that people who are so wrong also seem to be so confident? ;)

Or else maybe they would try to learn. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1