The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 02, 2003, 12:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
"Ok, here's the question -- is the catcher committing interference by being on the baseline? What would / would not constitute interference?"

Yes - and no! Yes, the catcher has committed a crime; no, it is not interference. It is called obstruction. Interference is an illegal act by offensive players; obstruction an illegal act by defensive players.

If the catcher has the ball then she can legally block the basepath to make a play on the runner. The runner is obligated to avoid contact, other than by a legal slide. If she runs 3' outside her basepath to avoid contact she will be called out. (Note: basepath is direct line between runner and home plate - has nothing to do with the chalked foul line.)

In your case the catcher did not have the ball and forced to runner to alter her path. Without the ball the catcher is obligated to step aside and allow the runner a clear path to the base. The catcher should have been charged with obstruction; the umpire would have "protected" the runner to the base she should have obtained had the obstruction not occured. Thus the runner would score. Even if the runner had been called out on the tag at home plate. The obstruction call would supercede the out call and the runner would score.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1