The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
I had a bang-bang call last night and I did not know if the obstruction rule applied. Men's over-40 SP ASA. R1 on 1B, bloop fly to short right-center field. R1 holds up between 1B and 2B until ball falls in safely. F6 moves towards 2B to receive throw as R1 also runs towards 2B. As R1 is about to tag 2B with foot, but just before touching it, F6 straddles 2B, facing right field to receive throw, with right foot against 2B and in front of R1's direct path to 2B (unintentionally). R1 steps on F6's right foot instead of bag. Then F6 receives the throw from F9. Should R1 be out on the force since R1 did not tag 2B before F6 did with possession of the ball, or should obstruction be ruled on F6 for being in the way of R1, even though he was waiting for the throw and his actions were unintentional?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1