The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Runner Lying on base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/91829-runner-lying-base.html)

tzme415 Fri Jun 22, 2012 03:03pm

Runner Lying on base
 
Situation: Men's ASA Slowpitch - R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - Batter hits ball into outfield, R2 is a much faster runner than R1 and is right behind R1 when approaching home plate. Ball gets to catcher but is up the 1st base line as R1 slides into home. R1 is on top of base, but there is some uncovered at the back corner. R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2.

Is R2 safe or should interference be called on R1?

Andy Fri Jun 22, 2012 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzme415 (Post 847031)
Situation: Men's ASA Slowpitch - R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - Batter hits ball into outfield, R2 is a much faster runner than R1 and is right behind R1 when approaching home plate. Ball gets to catcher but is up the 1st base line as R1 slides into home. R1 is on top of base, but there is some uncovered at the back corner. R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2.

Is R2 safe or should interference be called on R1?

Wow...this is definitely a HTBT to see this play.

In reading your description, I would ask if F2 would have been able to reach and tag R2 before he touched the plate if R1 was not there. If the answer is yes, then an interference call is correct. If the answer to that question is no, then no interference call as there is not a play to be interfered with.

You did say the throw was up the first base line, I'm envisioning that F2 had to take a few steps away from the plate to go get the ball and then had to move back to the plate to try to make a play. That leads me to think that there is not interference here.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 22, 2012 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzme415 (Post 847031)
Situation: Men's ASA Slowpitch - R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - Batter hits ball into outfield, R2 is a much faster runner than R1 and is right behind R1 when approaching home plate. Ball gets to catcher but is up the 1st base line as R1 slides into home. R1 is on top of base, but there is some uncovered at the back corner. R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2.

Is R2 safe or should interference be called on R1?

Run has already scored. This is nothing

jwwashburn Fri Jun 22, 2012 05:08pm

I always thought Men's Slow Pitch players lie whether they are on the base or not:D:D:D:D:D

Crabby_Bob Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jwwashburn (Post 847046)
I always thought Men's Slow Pitch players lie whether they are on the base or not:D:D:D:D:D

At least they're not laying on the base. :eek:

Crabby_Bob Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jwwashburn (Post 847046)
I always thought Men's Slow Pitch players lie whether they are on the base or not:D:D:D:D:D

At least they're not laying on the base. :eek:

DeputyUICHousto Sat Jun 23, 2012 06:11am

We've all heard their "motto"..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 847085)
At least they're not laying on the base. :eek:

"If you ain't cheatin' you ain't tryin'!"

HugoTafurst Sat Jun 23, 2012 06:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 847085)
At least they're not laying on the base. :eek:

That wasnt even funny the first time....;)

EsqUmp Sat Jun 23, 2012 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 847041)
Run has already scored. This is nothing

There is potential for interference by a runner who scored. But it is too difficult to tell whether this would apply. We would need to know exactly where the runner was, what the catcher had to do, etc.

CecilOne Sat Jun 23, 2012 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzme415 (Post 847031)
Situation: Men's ASA Slowpitch - R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - Batter hits ball into outfield, R2 is a much faster runner than R1 and is right behind R1 when approaching home plate. Ball gets to catcher but is up the 1st base line as R1 slides into home. R1 is on top of base, but there is some uncovered at the back corner. R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2.

Is R2 safe or should interference be called on R1?

The bold part is the crux. Was jumping over R1 needed to reach the tag?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jun 23, 2012 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 847118)
The bold part is the crux. Was jumping over R1 needed to reach the tag?

What difference does it make if R2 has already touched the plate?

EsqUmp Sat Jun 23, 2012 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 847122)
What difference does it make if R2 has already touched the plate?

Possibility of interference by runner who has scored. Keep reading.

Steve M Sat Jun 23, 2012 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 847125)
Possibility of interference by runner who has scored. Keep reading.

Hmmmmmmmm
R1 has scored. R2 has scored. Interference by which runner that has scored - and with what play?

HugoTafurst Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 847134)
Hmmmmmmmm
R1 has scored. R2 has scored. Interference by which runner that has scored - and with what play?

If I'm following this right, the question is, "did r1 interfere f2's play on r2"?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 847157)
If I'm following this right, the question is, "did r1 interfere f2's play on r2"?

That's how I read it, also. I also read that R2 touched the plate prior to the catcher starting to go over R1. So, IMJ, even if you consider R1 to being a hinderance or impediment (which I would not) to F2, R2 had scored by the time that impediment became a factor in the attempted play.

Steve M Sun Jun 24, 2012 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 847157)
If I'm following this right, the question is, "did r1 interfere f2's play on r2"?

Hugo,
Look at this sequence again - "R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2."

As I read this, R2 had scored before F2 attempted to make a play. So, what play was interfered with?

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 25, 2012 08:21am

I think the problem is this:

R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag

Some are reading that as typed - 1) R2 steps on plate; 2) Catcher jumps.

Others are reading that to say R2's step was just before THE TAG... IOW - Catcher jumps, R2 steps, Catcher tags.

Not positive it makes a difference - but I see that as the crux of the difference of opinion among your responses.

youngump Mon Jun 25, 2012 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 847214)
I think the problem is this:

R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag

Some are reading that as typed - 1) R2 steps on plate; 2) Catcher jumps.

Others are reading that to say R2's step was just before THE TAG... IOW - Catcher jumps, R2 steps, Catcher tags.

Not positive it makes a difference - but I see that as the crux of the difference of opinion among your responses.

I think you're right in reading the communication problem. Now the thing I'm interested in is the second. What would you have to see to have interference there?

AtlUmpSteve Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 847222)
I think you're right in reading the communication problem. Now the thing I'm interested in is the second. What would you have to see to have interference there?

I'm not sure why that part is difficult. Understanding the timing on THIS play may be an issue (HTBT), but I think the ruling should be apparent.

My practical answer is if I believe R2 would be out if R1 wasn't in the way, then it is interference. R1 (a runner that has already scored) has no rule exemption to hinder the defense from making a play, unintentionally or otherwise (NOTE: no book in hand, in hotel room ready to go out my games of the day).

If I believe R2 would be safe regardless, then R1's position is immaterial. No possible out equals no play, so no interference.

I suppose the next post will include someone saying R1 was just doing what runners should do (slide, yes, but cover and block the plate, no), and/or that they cannot go 'poof' after scoring. Cite me a rule that supports anything but interference if a runner that has already scored actually hinders the defense from making a play.

Andy Tue Jun 26, 2012 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 847389)
I'm not sure why that part is difficult. Understanding the timing on THIS play may be an issue (HTBT), but I think the ruling should be apparent.

My practical answer is if I believe R2 would be out if R1 wasn't in the way, then it is interference. R1 (a runner that has already scored) has no rule exemption to hinder the defense from making a play, unintentionally or otherwise (NOTE: no book in hand, in hotel room ready to go out my games of the day).

If I believe R2 would be safe regardless, then R1's position is immaterial. No possible out equals no play, so no interference.

I suppose the next post will include someone saying R1 was just doing what runners should do (slide, yes, but cover and block the plate, no), and/or that they cannot go 'poof' after scoring. Cite me a rule that supports anything but interference if a runner that has already scored actually hinders the defense from making a play.

I think this is what I said in post #2 of this thread.....

AtlUmpSteve Wed Jun 27, 2012 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 847420)
I think this is what I said in post #2 of this thread.....

Yes, you did. Full credit for correctness.

Reality is that some topics need the naysayers to try to explain their logic, or others to make sure they fully agree what the question is before they are ready to hear the right answer. Your answer was simply too soon for most to accept, despite being completely correct.

It is rare that any posted question is so clear, and the first response also so clear and accurate that a thread dies that fast. Look at the double first base thread, for example. Asked, answered, still lives.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1