![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The BR is allowed to be in a "running lane" in fair territory if two conditions are met: 1) the fielder is using the orange base, and 2) the throw is coming from foul territory. You left out condition #1. (SC Ump, as Mike said, this is from ASA rule 8-2E.) However, this idea that the BR is allowed to use the white base (or, here, run in fair territory) if the throw is coming from foul territory is something, IMO, ASA needs to clarify, possibly even change. As I said in my reply to WMB, the BR does not have eyes in the back of her (his) head. A sensible change would be to allow the BR to use either base if the defense is using (partially or completely) the orange base regardless of whether the defense's use of the orange base is legal. If the defense improperly uses the orange base, the BR should be declared safe (no appeal honored) if she touches white. However, to get the out, the defense would have to properly use the orange base (i.e. throw coming from foul territory). This seems fair, to me, since the defense can see the play coming from behind the BR, but the BR cannot.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|