The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
I have a problem taking a literal interpretation of this rule, as it appears that you are only protecting the ability of the fielder to catch a throw. I can not visualize a game situation where you would ever call a B-R out.

Let's assume a bunt in front of plate, F2 making the play, and B-R well in fair territory.

#1 B-R is 30' from 1B and F1 hits her with throw. Is that a "quality" throw? If the ball never got there, how does that interfere with the fielder taking a throw?

#2 B-R is 30' from 1B and throw whizzes by her ear and F3 does not make the catch. Quality throw? Interference? Should a good F1 have made that catch? Change the distance to 15'. To 5'. Is there a point where you decided that F3 does not have time to react to a ball that just misses the B-R?

#3 F2 can not see F1 and she does not make throw. No interference, right? (No throw, no call.) But if she tries to force a throw over the B-R and it goes over the head of F3 you are going to say "not a quality throw." So you have disadvantaged the Defense while allowing the Offense to make what should be an illegal action.

#4 F2 wants to make the throw, but can not see a clear line to 1B so she adjusts a couple steps but the throw is a fraction too late. Not interference, right?

IMO, the 3' lane is there to legally divide the field between the offense and defense when a play is being made down the first base line. The B-R owns the 3' lane and is protected against interference regardles of what happens with the throw. The defense has all the rest of the playing surface to find a clear line to 1B and make the throw. If the B-R is not in her legal territory and interferes with the fielder or the throw, B-R is out.

Interference "with the throw" protected the fielder's right to make an unobstructed throw to 1B other then through the 3' lane. This is the way we called it for years in high school ball, until NFHS re-wrote Rule 8 last year to copy ASA rules.

With that strict interpretation, when would you ever call inteference?

WMB


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1