The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 29, 2003, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
Obstruction

[QUOTE]Originally posted by lildani14
[B]alright, had this last thrusday with a fairly experienced partner.

one out, B1 hits grounder to F6, throw is wide F3 comes off bag but still muffs it and kicks it toward dugout in process of going after the ball she tags/more less pushes BR and BR goes flying, BR still reaches first, but should she have been rewarded 2nd?

Neither of us called it, but I was for sure going to give her first if they would have been able to make a play. So do we have obstruction?
################################################## ##########
Why would F3 tag B1 after kicking the ball towards the dugout?

I would have obstruction on F3 and signal a delayed dead ball. In my judgement if F3's contact with B1 prevented her from going to second base on the passed ball, at the conclusion of the play I would call time and award B1 second base. A key word you used was "pushed". If I thought the push by F3 was flagrant I would also eject F3 for unsportsman like conduct. At a minimum you have obstruction with B1 protected at 1st base.

Michael
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1