The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Dropped Pitch (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/91351-dropped-pitch.html)

outathm Fri May 25, 2012 01:42pm

Dropped Pitch
 
A pitcher is in mid-windup, and drops the ball before completing the pitch to the catcher. If the ball goes forward, towards home plate, what is the ruling? If the ball goes backward, what is the ruling? Does it matter whether the ball remains in the circle or not?

MNBlue Fri May 25, 2012 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by outathm (Post 843401)
A pitcher is in mid-windup, and drops the ball before completing the pitch to the catcher. If the ball goes forward, towards home plate, what is the ruling? If the ball goes backward, what is the ruling? Does it matter whether the ball remains in the circle or not?

Ball.

Ball.

No.

Crabby_Bob Fri May 25, 2012 02:19pm

Quote:

Ball
If the hands have come together after the pitcher has taken a position on the pitcher's plate. If not, the pitcher has simply dropped the ball. The LBR is off in both cases.

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 25, 2012 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by outathm (Post 843401)
A pitcher is in mid-windup, and drops the ball before completing the pitch to the catcher. If the ball goes forward, towards home plate, what is the ruling? If the ball goes backward, what is the ruling? Does it matter whether the ball remains in the circle or not?

You have been listening to baseball umpires, haven't you? (Bill Hohn probably doesn't know what a softball game is. In fact, I had to google just to find out who Bill Hohn is.) Absolutely no part of this makes any difference in softball.

If the pitch has started (in ASA and NCAA, hands have separated, in NFHS, either hands have separated OR the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands are brought together), it is a pitch; no more, no less. Not illegal, just a pitch. Unless the batter attempts to hit it, we can assume 100% of umpires would call it a ball.

If the pitch hasn't started (hands not yet brought together; yes, the pitcher can windup prior to that point; now refer to prior paragraph for rules differences), it is simply a live ball; pitcher no longer in possession, so LBR doesn't apply. Not a pitch, not a ball, not an illegal pitch.

DUNDALKCHOPPER Fri May 25, 2012 09:16pm

Have to be careful and not call it a ball too soon. One day some crazy batter is going to swing at this thing as it rolls across the plate at 2 MPH.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 25, 2012 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DUNDALKCHOPPER (Post 843441)
Have to be careful and not call it a ball too soon. One day some crazy batter is going to swing at this thing as it rolls across the plate at 2 MPH.

So, if the catcher steps up and picks up the ball prior to it reaching the plate, it is.....................................

RKBUmp Fri May 25, 2012 09:33pm

Catchers obstruction.

DUNDALKCHOPPER Fri May 25, 2012 09:36pm

Good topic !!, OBSTRUCTION. BUT Once the pitch stops rolling (like right in front of the plate) I think we need to call time ??? so the catcher knows she can go pick it up. Or am I making this too involved.

DaveASA/FED Fri May 25, 2012 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DUNDALKCHOPPER (Post 843446)
Good topic !!, OBSTRUCTION. BUT Once the pitch stops rolling (like right in front of the plate) I think we need to call time ??? so the catcher knows she can go pick it up. Or am I making this too involved.

Better be careful...if there are runners on they are released to run as soon as the ball leaves the pitchers hand!! So you better not kill it with runners on!!

RKBUmp Fri May 25, 2012 09:40pm

Why call time? If the ball stops before it reaches the plate it cant be catchers obstuction, and if there are runners on base you may have playing action going on.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 25, 2012 09:59pm

Okay, next step.

What happens if the batter lays down the bat, takes off toward 1B and the ball rolls against it and stays in fair territory?

Rich Ives Fri May 25, 2012 11:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843451)
Okay, next step.

What happens if the batter lays down the bat, takes off toward 1B and the ball rolls against it and stays in fair territory?

Out for hitting the ball while out of the box?

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 26, 2012 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 843453)
Out for hitting the ball while out of the box?

The rule (ASA, NFHS, NCAA) simply states the batter is out if the batter's foot is on the ground outside of the BB when contact is made, fair or foul.

UmpireErnie Sun May 27, 2012 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843451)
Okay, next step.

What happens if the batter lays down the bat, takes off toward 1B and the ball rolls against it and stays in fair territory?

Why is batter taking off, she is assuming ball four?

7-6-D does not specify this but I believe this out would be called only if the batter still had the bat in her hand. Otherwise, on a discarded bat I am going to fall back on the distinction of ball hitting the bat vs bat hitting the ball. This rule is designed to penalize a batter who is hitting the ball while outside the box.

If this is going to be ball four, I see no reason why the batter must wait for the ball to reach the plate. As long as her discarding the bat cannot be considered INT it's simply ball four and now the batter isn't a batter she is a batter-runner so 7-6 ("The batter is out:") no longer applies.

Mind you, I like to call outs as much as the next umpire, but.. :)

IRISHMAFIA Sun May 27, 2012 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 843635)
Why is batter taking off, she is assuming ball four?

7-6-D does not specify this but I believe this out would be called only if the batter still had the bat in her hand. Otherwise, on a discarded bat I am going to fall back on the distinction of ball hitting the bat vs bat hitting the ball. This rule is designed to penalize a batter who is hitting the ball while outside the box.

Only a BR can "discard" a bat, so I don't think this would apply

Quote:

If this is going to be ball four, I see no reason why the batter must wait for the ball to reach the plate. As long as her discarding the bat cannot be considered INT it's simply ball four and now the batter isn't a batter she is a batter-runner so 7-6 ("The batter is out:") no longer applies.
Just because a ball is rolling to the plate, does not make it ball four until it reaches the plate and is touched by the catcher. After all, the batter may still attempt to hit the ball if they choose, may even miss the ball. If a runner is stealing and the batter is standing there with the bat cocked and the catcher steps out in front of the plate, that is CO. You are making an assumption of a ruling that just isn't supported by the rules. In FP, the pitch hitting the ground is not a dead ball and the play must be allowed to come to come to a conclusion.

Quote:

Mind you, I like to call outs as much as the next umpire, but.. :)
And mind you, I'm only citing the rules which clearing state it is an out. Granted, the odds of a play like this occurring are remote, but the rules is what they is :)

UmpireErnie Sun May 27, 2012 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843638)
Just because a ball is rolling to the plate, does not make it ball four until it reaches the plate and is touched by the catcher. After all, the batter may still attempt to hit the ball if they choose, may even miss the ball.

Yes, the batter may still attempt to hit the ball. However, if she has discarded her bat and started to 1B, that ship has sailed. The pitch cannot become a strike unless she swings at it since it has hit the ground. And she has given up on swinging at it. So it's a ball. Still can't see any reason why batter must wait to go to 1B on this pitch..

8-1-C says the batter becomes a BR when four balls are called by the umpire. So when should the umpire call it a ball? 7-5-A says a ball is called by the umpire on any legally delivered pitch that does not enter the strike zone, touches the ground, or touches home plate and the batter does not swing.

This pitch has touched the ground and the batter has by discarding the bat and moving to 1B indicated she is not going to swing. It's ball four so now she is a batter-runner. When the dropped ball rolls against the bat, it is not a batter hitting the ball with one foot out of the box, it is a batter-runner whose discarded bat had the ball hit it. Which is nothing.

IRISHMAFIA Sun May 27, 2012 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 843646)
Yes, the batter may still attempt to hit the ball. However, if she has discarded her bat and started to 1B, that ship has sailed. The pitch cannot become a strike unless she swings at it since it has hit the ground. And she has given up on swinging at it. So it's a ball. Still can't see any reason why batter must wait to go to 1B on this pitch..

Where does it state the batter must be in the batter's hands?

Quote:

8-1-C says the batter becomes a BR when four balls are called by the umpire. So when should the umpire call it a ball? 7-5-A says a ball is called by the umpire on any legally delivered pitch that does not enter the strike zone, touches the ground, or touches home plate and the batter does not swing.
You are reading something that is not there. It cannot be a ball until the batter no longer has the ability to hit the ball. And, again, nothing states the bat must be in the batter's hands NOR does the contact with the ball need to be intentional.

Quote:

This pitch has touched the ground and the batter has by discarding the bat and moving to 1B indicated she is not going to swing. It's ball four so now she is a batter-runner. When the dropped ball rolls against the bat, it is not a batter hitting the ball with one foot out of the box, it is a batter-runner whose discarded bat had the ball hit it. Which is nothing.
Again, you are reading something that isn't there. Years ago when I was young and fast and played FP while in the USN, I often hung the bat over the plate to let the ball hit it. The ball really goes dead when there is nothing holding the bat. It was not unusual for me to actually release the bat prior to contact with the ball. That was not a discarded bat. And unless you can tell a batter is throwing the bat away and not laying it on the plate with intent of contacting the ball, you have no call until something happens.

This is a TWP and the only reason I raise it was because of my antics 40 years ago and the warnings I often received from umpires about the BB. However, my point is completely backed by the rules as written.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2012 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 843684)
Does the batter leaving the box before the ball passes interfere with the catcher?

In what manner?

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2012 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 843695)
Hindering the catcher from "catching" the pitch if there is a play to be made.

You understand I'm supporting an out call on this?

Ernie has a lot of good points that throw a lot of twists into this, but my only point is that the rule states if the legally pitched ball is hit by the bat while the batter's foot is entirely out of the batter's box, the batter is out.

ronald Mon May 28, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843701)
You understand I'm supporting an out call on this?

Ernie has a lot of good points that throw a lot of twists into this, but my only point is that the rule states if the legally pitched ball is hit by the bat while the batter's foot is entirely out of the batter's box, the batter is out.

CeLl phone typing so kiss right nowm

Like 76k2 for intent and spirit. Won't fly but like

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2012 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 843709)
CeLl phone typing so kiss right nowm

Like 76k2 for intent and spirit. Won't fly but like

That would be a batted ball and a second hit, neither which would apply here.

Crabby_Bob Mon May 28, 2012 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843701)
You understand I'm supporting an out call on this?

Ernie has a lot of good points that throw a lot of twists into this, but my only point is that the rule states if the legally pitched ball is hit by the bat while the batter's foot is entirely out of the batter's box, the batter is out.

Unless the bat is part of the playing field?

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2012 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 843721)
Unless the bat is part of the playing field?

And how could that be?

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2012 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 843725)
Didn't you say "the ball rolls against it ", not the bat hit the ball? :confused:

Again, you are talking about a second hit and that is not the case here.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2012 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 843732)
Am I on the wrong question? Or are you saying the bat is still moving also?

Irrelevant

UmpireErnie Mon May 28, 2012 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843656)
Years ago when I was young and fast and played FP while in the USN, I often hung the bat over the plate to let the ball hit it.

Irish.. thanks for your service, sir!

UmpireErnie Tue May 29, 2012 01:11am

OK, so this is a very interesting discussion.

Irish, your story about your Navy fastpitch days made me reread your post. I am getting the point you are driving at. I was thinking of a batter who sees the pitcher drop the pitch and knowing it's ball four decides to get to 1B asap and see what else she can get. Her discarded bat comes to rest in fair territory and the ball rolls into it.

But in your scenario you don't really care what the count is, you are talking about a batter who, seeing a dropped pitch rolling to the plate intentionally places the bat in the path of the ball and takes off to 1B.

Crazy idea but I would agree that by rule this is contacting the ball with the bat with one foot out of the batters box and so a dead ball out.

So if she tries to hit the ball in this manner but the ball rolls past the bat, is it a swing and a miss? She made an attempt to hit the ball even if it while the bat was not in her hands...

Is it a bunt attempt? If the ball rolled into the bat before the batter got her foot out of the box and the ball rolled foul with two strikes is she out for bunting foul?

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 29, 2012 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 843771)
OK, so this is a very interesting discussion.

Irish, your story about your Navy fastpitch days made me reread your post. I am getting the point you are driving at. I was thinking of a batter who sees the pitcher drop the pitch and knowing it's ball four decides to get to 1B asap and see what else she can get. Her discarded bat comes to rest in fair territory and the ball rolls into it.

But in your scenario you don't really care what the count is, you are talking about a batter who, seeing a dropped pitch rolling to the plate intentionally places the bat in the path of the ball and takes off to 1B.

Crazy idea but I would agree that by rule this is contacting the ball with the bat with one foot out of the batters box and so a dead ball out.

Like is said, TWP.

Quote:

So if she tries to hit the ball in this manner but the ball rolls past the bat, is it a swing and a miss? She made an attempt to hit the ball even if it while the bat was not in her hands...
I would say no. see below

Quote:

Is it a bunt attempt? If the ball rolled into the bat before the batter got her foot out of the box and the ball rolled foul with two strikes is she out for bunting foul?
This probably would be perceived as a "bunt" as the only possible positive result would be that the bat tapped slowly in the infield. However, that means that for the purposes of determine if the batter "offered" at the pitch, the bat not being withdrawn has no bearing, and even if it did, the bat isn't in the strike zone.

MD Longhorn Tue May 29, 2012 08:13am

Mike,

If this batter is smart enough to put her bat in the path of the ball with the intent to hit the ball ... suppose she's also smart enough to watch the pitch as she's running and leap into the air just before the ball strikes the bat.

Yes, WAY TWP ... but you started it! :) I have a base hit in this situation.

(Wanna make it weirder? What if R1 from third contacts the bat before the ball gets there?)

CecilOne Tue May 29, 2012 09:45am

OK, I'm definitely on the wrong question. :o

HugoTafurst Tue May 29, 2012 10:56am

:D
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 843802)
Mike,

(snip)
(Wanna make it weirder? What if R1 from third contacts the bat before the ball gets there?)


Obstruction on R1?????

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 29, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 843802)
Mike,

If this batter is smart enough to put her bat in the path of the ball with the intent to hit the ball ... suppose she's also smart enough to watch the pitch as she's running and leap into the air just before the ball strikes the bat.

Yes, WAY TWP ... but you started it! :) I have a base hit in this situation.

No, great question. And by the exact wording of the rule, there is no out to be had here, assuming the umpire is going to see the leap and be able to watch the ball at the same time ;)

Quote:

(Wanna make it weirder? What if R1 from third contacts the bat before the ball gets there?)
Depends. If no contact between bat and ball, it is a stolen base.
Now comes the hard part. You cannot have an offensive player obs a batter. What would you do if R1 was stealing home with the B still in the BB, R1 clips batter who falls and the bat hits the pitch?

Dakota Tue May 29, 2012 11:46am

http://www.wirewd.com/exploding-head-zone.gif

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 29, 2012 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 843845)


Like we need TWP to get to that point!!! :D

ronald Tue May 29, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843852)
Like we need TWP to get to that point!!! :D

twp =?

thanks

HugoTafurst Tue May 29, 2012 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 843845)

Like:D

AtlUmpSteve Tue May 29, 2012 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843841)
No, great question. And by the exact wording of the rule, there is no out to be had here, assuming the umpire is going to see the leap and be able to watch the ball at the same time ;)

Here is one umpire that will determine the entire foot was on the ground at the time of contact. Because, in my opinion, the "exact wording" isn't intended to allow what is being discussed, it is intended to describe and clarify that out of the box doesn't include a foot still partially in, nor a foot that hasn't yet landed.

Every standard rule application relating to use of lines says you are 1) where your foot is currently on the ground, 2) if your foot is in the air, it is where it was last on the ground, and 3) you can re-establish a new location when one foot touches back in and the other foot then comes down after being in the air. There is NO WAY the intent of the wording regarding contacting the ball while out of the box contemplates allowing a batter to run forward with feet completely out of the box, jump in the air and contact the ball, then land with feet completely out of the box. Forget this third world dropping the bat discussion, are you allowing a slapper to do what I described on an eefus change up, and saying this is a legally batted ball??

Me, I have the batter out of the box, that's what I saw.

MD Longhorn Tue May 29, 2012 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 843865)
Every standard rule application relating to use of lines says you are 2) if your foot is in the air, it is where it was last on the ground, and 3) you can re-establish a new location when one foot touches back in and the other foot then comes down after being in the air.

Admittedly we're talking extreme twp here... however, I do not believe your assertions (2) and (3) above to be correct. In fact, I can think of no other rule in this sport that treats in or out of anything as you describe. Further, I can remember numerous clinics where the phrase, "this isn't basketball" is spoken in relation to such "in and out" of the lines discussions. In basketball, you are in or out... in baseball/softball - there is a third option - neither.

AtlUmpSteve Tue May 29, 2012 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 843866)
Admittedly we're talking extreme twp here... however, I do not believe your assertions (2) and (3) above to be correct. In fact, I can think of no other rule in this sport that treats in or out of anything as you describe. Further, I can remember numerous clinics where the phrase, "this isn't basketball" is spoken in relation to such "in and out" of the lines discussions. In basketball, you are in or out... in baseball/softball - there is a third option - neither.

Check definitions of a catch/no catch as relates to in play/out of play/catch and carry.

ronald Tue May 29, 2012 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 843853)
twp =? thanks

third world play good thing the pc police do not peruse this board. we would be on the news:D

ronald Tue May 29, 2012 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 843872)
Check definitions of a catch/no catch as relates to in play/out of play/catch and carry.

ditto. and case plays use this exact language in describing plays.

HugoTafurst Tue May 29, 2012 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 843841)
No, great question. And by the exact wording of the rule, there is no out to be had here, assuming the umpire is going to see the leap and be able to watch the ball at the same time ;)



Depends. If no contact between bat and ball, it is a stolen base.
Now comes the hard part. You cannot have an offensive player obs a batter. What would you do if R1 was stealing home with the B still in the BB, R1 clips batter who falls and the bat hits the pitch?

Batted ball, play ball...fair or foul, ......caught or not caught.

outathm Tue May 29, 2012 10:56pm

Amazing that a post put in to win a 1 beer bet, has crated 4 pages and I knew the answer and was proving a point to one of my 'young guns'. This board is AWESOME:eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1