The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2003, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 175
Post No obstruction

Ball beat runner to fielder. Fielder sort of had the ball. Ball was in their "possession". Obstruction rule is not the same as a tag or a catch, in that there is no statement as to the possession needing to be "firm."

However, here is another issue...was the fielder in the basebath prior to the throw, and, in the judgement of the umpire, did the runner slow down prior to the ball getting there because the fielder was in the way? This is a HTBT, but if the above two are both true, you MAY have obstruction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1