![]() |
Decent question from softball dot com.
95% of their questions are simple. This one, actually, is not, and I suspect will generate an argument... here goes:
Runner at 2nd. The batter taps a slow grounder down the 3rd base line. The 3B has no chance to throw out the batter, so she allows the ball to roll, hoping it will go foul. The 3B stays behind 3rd, waiting for the ball to roll foul. When the runner slides into 3rd, she touches the ball. What's the call? |
Had she touched 3rd yet when she contacted the ball?
|
I'd say that you have a runner hit by a batted ball and you need to apply all the usual rules that apply to such a runner.
Was the ball fair when touched? Was the runner in contact with the base when the ball was touched? |
Dead Ball, Runner out for interferance, Batter awarded 1st, other runners advace if forced.
|
I gave all the info they gave, but I think we should assume that yes - the ball was in fair territory. If you answer depends on whether the runner touched the base before the ball hit her, or vice versa, please state so.
|
Sounds familiar... :)
|
Since the defense gave up their opportunity to field the ball I have nothing, live ball.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
+1
If fair, F5 must be given any opportunity to field the batted ball and make a play. OP doesn't have enough info to provide a single answer. Otherwise we will be twirling multiple scenarios in the world of "what if". |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Must been a REALLY slow grounder. :D |
Quote:
Corrected, but if you think about it, what if the DID happen with F3? Would that have been considered the ball passing a fielder? |
Quote:
Yes, we need more detail to make an accurate ruling. By chance, did this happen in the same game where the runner scored and contacted the ball that was about to roll foul? :):) |
I don't disagree with the idea that F5 should have had time to make a play on that ball, but in NFHS rules isn't she still in the act of making an initial play on that batted ball?
Section 47 Art 3:Initial Play. A fielder is considered to be making an initial play on a fair batted ball when she: a. Has a reasonable chance to gain control of a ground ball that no other fielder (except the pitcher) has touched. The way the play was described it seems that fielder still had a resonable chance to gain control of that fair batted ball (again assumming it was still fair, if it was foul we just have a foul ball). In ASA I think we would look at two rules, 8.7.J1: When a runner interferes: 1. With a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or I think you could agrue this as applicable....is that fielder attempting to let the ball go foul an attemp to field that batted ball? It's certainly a play on the ball...letting it go foul is a way to play that batted ball for sure. Am I stretching it some to say that's "attempting to field" the ball? Maybe but not sure... Also rule 8.7.K would depend on what the fielder did, did they let the ball pass them then go back behind it to wait for it to go foul? Or did the ball always stay in front of them? And as others have said, if they were touching the base when they touched the ball, this one might not apply based on the answers to the above questions. K. When a runner is struck with a fair untouched batted ball while not in contact with a base and before it passes another infielder excluding the pitcher, or if it passes an infielder and another fielder has an opportunity to make an out. EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference. |
8.7.J1 mentions interference, interference is defined as making a play, making a play is interpreted to mean having an opportunity to get an out.
Watching a ball roll down the line and waiting for it to roll foul is a valid defensive strategy, but it will not lead to an out...only a strike on the batter and runners return to bases. I can't stretch far enough to say that a fielder just watching a ball roll is attempting to field it. |
Approved NCAA Ruling:
9.4.2.1 Obstruction Can the fielder be guilty of obstruction if the ball is not going to be played on because the fielder chooses not to play the batted ball and is just standing there? Yes, the fielder has to actively be playing the ball (i.e. fielding, throwing or receiving a throw) to be protected. For example, if a player is following a slow roller roll down the foul line, hoping it will go foul, she is not protected and could be guilty of obstruction if she hinders the batter-runner on her way to the running lane. This supports Andy's thought process. If fielder is not protected from obstruction because not actively playing the ball, and contact with the fielder isn't interference, then what play has been interfered with if the ball is inadvertantly contacted? |
Quote:
|
Following the ball ... and the ball has passed a fielder. However, an F5 who simply stays back beyond 3rd base, hoping the ball will go foul before it gets to her, and you still have a possibility of INT.
|
Quote:
I still can't interpret that fielder standing there watching the ball as attempting to field it and make a play. We also can't predict with absolute certainty that the ball was going to roll foul before it contacted the runner. |
Quote:
|
I agree - the question did not include several relevant points, but I do believe it generated good discussion as to what those missing points were and what the ruling would be in each case.
(Usually their questions are the type that only the trolls here would disagree with. Simple stuff.) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53pm. |