The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Can the base path be re-established? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/90646-can-base-path-re-established.html)

rwest Tue Apr 17, 2012 02:21pm

Can the base path be re-established?
 
We all know that the base path is established by the runner and at the time a tag is being attempted. Now in a run down between bases (AKA a "pickle") is the base path re-established each time a new attempt at a tag is made? Suppose R1 rounds 2nd and is 5 feet outside the BASE LINE when F6 attempts a tag. She is heading toward third when this occurs so her BASE PATH is, oh let's say a 20 degree angle to third. F6 throws to F5. R1 now turns around and is heading back toward 2nd and she is heading straight toward 2nd. F5 throws to F6 who attempts a tag. Now the runner's BASE PATH has been re-established and is a straight line to 2nd. The BASE PATH and BASE LINE coincide at this time. Also, they are only out if the run outside the path to avoid a tag. If the run outside to avoid a fielder who is not in possession of the ball we don't have an out. We have obstruction.

Anyone disagree with any of the above?

Rule citations would be helpful!

MD Longhorn Tue Apr 17, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 837746)
We all know that the base path is established by the runner and at the time a tag is being attempted. Now in a run down between bases (AKA a "pickle") is the base path re-established each time a new attempt at a tag is made? Suppose R1 rounds 2nd and is 5 feet outside the BASE LINE when F6 attempts a tag. She is heading toward third when this occurs so her BASE PATH is, oh let's say a 20 degree angle to third. F6 throws to F5. R1 now turns around and is heading back toward 2nd and she is heading straight toward 2nd. F5 throws to F6 who attempts a tag. Now the runner's BASE PATH has been re-established and is a straight line to 2nd. The BASE PATH and BASE LINE coincide at this time. Also, they are only out if the run outside the path to avoid a tag. If the run outside to avoid a fielder who is not in possession of the ball we don't have an out. We have obstruction.

Anyone disagree with any of the above?

Rule citations would be helpful!

I don't believe you're going to find a rule cite other than what you've already said. But yes. You would reconsider the basepath each time. The 3 feet is really to prevent someone from simply running AROUND someone that has the ball.

rwest Tue Apr 17, 2012 02:35pm

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 837751)
I don't believe you're going to find a rule cite other than what you've already said. But yes. You would reconsider the basepath each time. The 3 feet is really to prevent someone from simply running AROUND someone that has the ball.

What I should have said is if you disagree please give a rule citation. I realize the rule is very much what I stated. The rule doesn't say either way but can be read to imply such. But if someone does disagree, I would like to know based on what rule.

Gulf Coast Blue Wed Apr 18, 2012 05:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 837751)
I don't believe you're going to find a rule cite other than what you've already said. But yes. You would reconsider the basepath each time. The 3 feet is really to prevent someone from simply running AROUND someone that has the ball.

Agree.......when I coached.......some of the funnest drills we had were for rundowns between bases. The girls always made a competion out of it which added to the intensity.

Joel


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1