The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jun 22, 2003, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to BratzCoach Send a message via Yahoo to BratzCoach
Question

I coach a Pixie (9 & under) girls team. My prior experience has been entirely baseball, so I'm still learning lots of things.

The league we play in uses a 7 run rule. In the prior baseball leagues I've had experience with, this meant that after the play completed on which the 7th run was scored the inning was over, and only 7 runs were counted. I was surprised to find out that in this league, they count any runners who cross the plate on the play, thereby making it possible to score as many as 10 runs in the inning.

Which way is more common? I'm just looking for feedback.
Old Sun Jun 22, 2003, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
In every league that I have called, whenever a per inning run rule is in effect, only the allowed number would count (seven in your case), no matter how many crossed the plate.
Old Sun Jun 22, 2003, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member

Same here. The limit is the limit.
Old Mon Jun 23, 2003, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member

Likewise. Though that's canceled in the last inning.

I have heard of leagues that do it where any that score on the play count. But in my experience, which is somewhat geographically limited, they are few and far in between.
Old Mon Jun 23, 2003, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member

Ditto! Limit is the limit. Why else have a limit? It becomes a rule of thumb, but not a true limit.

It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Old Mon Jun 23, 2003, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member