The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Errant throw / Safety base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/89614-errant-throw-safety-base.html)

MrRabbit Wed Feb 29, 2012 08:54pm

Do not see what the problem is....

The book makes the double base one large base both in ASA / NFHS.

Also tells us how to can it.

Until it is changed... play ball.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 29, 2012 09:07pm

Little biased aren't we?

How about coaches teach players how to play first base?

F3 has become a hiding place for hitters with little speed or range, in softball AND baseball. Even the pros don't play the position as well as they should for all the money they make.

Runners have a right to the base. Defender should never have their foot on the top of the base, so if the runner steps on the fielder's ankle or foot, you have a serious UC issue.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 29, 2012 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrRabbit (Post 828943)
Do not see what the problem is....

The book makes the double base one large base both in ASA / NFHS.

Only for a play on a runner, not a BR.

MrRabbit Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 828948)
Only for a play on a runner, not a BR.

Question, Did I miss something?
We were talking about an errant throw pulling F3 on to the orange bag and the batter runner being out?
Doesn't that fall in to the one big bag category with a batter runner?
8-2-M-5

MrRabbit Thu Mar 01, 2012 01:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 828947)
Little biased aren't we?

How about coaches teach players how to play first base?

F3 has become a hiding place for hitters with little speed or range, in softball AND baseball. Even the pros don't play the position as well as they should for all the money they make.

Runners have a right to the base. Defender should never have their foot on the top of the base, so if the runner steps on the fielder's ankle or foot, you have a serious UC issue.

I have no problem with coaches teaching, which would be nice to see.
But am I mistaken in thinking they are the ones that ask for the double base?

BretMan Thu Mar 01, 2012 05:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrRabbit (Post 828981)
Question, Did I miss something?
We were talking about an errant throw pulling F3 on to the orange bag and the batter runner being out?
Doesn't that fall in to the one big bag category with a batter runner?
8-2-M-5

Just semantics, I guess...

The term "one big bag" is generally used to explain how the double base is regarded on plays where the batter-runner has already reached/passed first base (ie: has transformed from "a batter-runner" to "a runner").

You could put it this way:

After the batter-runner has reached/passed first base, then the double base always becomes "one big bag".

On the initial play against a batter-runner, almost all of the time it's treated as two separate bases, with just a couple of exceptions. Sometimes it's treated as "one big bag".

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 01, 2012 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 829006)
Just semantics, I guess...

The term "one big bag" is generally used to explain how the double base is regarded on plays where the batter-runner has already reached/passed first base (ie: has transformed from "a batter-runner" to "a runner").

You could put it this way:

After the batter-runner has reached/passed first base, then the double base always becomes "one big bag".

On the initial play against a batter-runner, almost all of the time it's treated as two separate bases, with just a couple of exceptions. Sometimes it's treated as "one big bag".

Yeah, pretty much the way I was thinking. Rabbit, that is where I was in my response. We teach it becomes one big bag for a runner, so I tend to avoid providing the same status for a rare exception involving a BR.

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 01, 2012 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 828912)
I don't see any double bases in boys games....:confused:

Goodness, I sure do. About 100%.

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 01, 2012 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrRabbit (Post 828943)
Do not see what the problem is....

The book makes the double base one large base both in ASA / NFHS.

MOST of the time, this statement is untrue. If you don't see what the problem is, you're part of the problem - please reread the rule or head to a clinic. (No offense intended)

Andy Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 828818)
+1

....just give us a big wide bag and drop all of the rules about who can use what.

This is the interpretation that AZ has adopted for HS play.

Most, if not all, of the school fields do not have the double first base, but we do have some schools that play their home games and tournaments at the city fields where the double base is standard. If the double base is present, we treat it as one big base for everybody.

x-tremeump Thu Mar 01, 2012 04:32pm

xtreamump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 829056)
This is the interpretation that AZ has adopted for HS play.

Most, if not all, of the school fields do not have the double first base, but we do have some schools that play their home games and tournaments at the city fields where the double base is standard. If the double base is present, we treat it as one big base for everybody.

What is the Official Consensus on, BR hits a hard grounder to F6, BR beats the throw and only touches the white bag, now the F3 touches the R1 before she returns back to 1B, and says "Hey Blue she did not use the SAFETY BASE ? I figured out how to Edit, this is great, I am going to finish the night with a happy ending.

Andy Thu Mar 01, 2012 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtreamump (Post 829174)
What is the Forum view on, BR hits a hard grounder to F6, BR beats the throw and only touches the white bag, now the F3 touches the R1 before she returns back to 1B, and says "Hey Blue she did not use the SAFETY Bag ?

Sounds like a properly executed live ball appeal to me. R1 is out.

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 01, 2012 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtreamump (Post 829174)
what is the forum view on, br hits a hard grounder to f6, br beats the throw and only touches the white bag, now the f3 touches the r1 before she returns back to 1b, and says "hey blue she did not use the safety bag ?

out!

(This is not the "forum view"... but rather the call we're required to make.)

BretMan Thu Mar 01, 2012 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtreamump (Post 829174)
What is the Forum view on, BR hits a hard grounder to F6, BR beats the throw and only touches the white bag, now the F3 touches the R1 before she returns back to 1B, and says "Hey Blue she did not use the SAFETY Bag ?

Since you highlighted the words "safety bag", do you think that there was something special/unusual about the fielder using those words?

Technically, the rule book might not call it a "safety bag". For instance, ASA and NFHS use the terms "colored portion" or "contrasting colored portion" to describe the part of the base located in foul ground. I've been told that ASA specifically avoids the term "safety base" at the advice of their legal council.

If the runner misses the correct base, and the fielder tags her before she gets back, accompanied by a verbal statement that she's appealing the missed base...that's good enough for me. I have an out.

EsqUmp Thu Mar 01, 2012 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 829199)
If the runner misses the correct base, and the fielder tags her before she gets back, accompanied by a verbal statement that she's appealing the missed base...that's good enough for me. I have an out.

Even if she doesn't verbalize it, if her actions are clear, I have an appeal and and out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1