![]() |
I am a football official with a softball question. My daughter plays catcher on a 12U team playing ASA rules. During the first game of a DH against a 14U team our pitcher tosses a one hitter with 19 stikeouts. Someone asked if an uncaught third strike is a K or is scored as a put out by F2 to F3. I replied that they're splitting hairs and didn't think it really mattered. Now I'm curious and would like to know the answer.
|
when applicable, a drop 3rd strike is treated as a fair (ground) ball, so it is not a "K" it would be a tag out or force out defensive play any objections ?? |
uncaught 3rd strike
Pitcher gets credit for a K (as does the batter), regardless of whether the batter reaches 1B.
If F2 throws to F3 for the out, F2 gets the assist and F3 gets the putout. |
Quote:
As a football official, do you determine the actual number of yards a runner or receiver gained on certain plays? No, we don't deal with scoring or stats in softball either :) Nor is your question covered in Rule 11 of the ASA rule book. However, while checking this out, I noticed something that I had forgotten, the catcher gets the put out for any strikeouts (as it always has been). Strikeouts are a stats thing, that are not necessarily recorded on the official score sheet for individual pitchers. Now, I'm just using what I see in the ASA rule book, so I don't know if there is additional documentation of another source concerning this issue. |
Thanks for the answers guys! As is with football the more I learn the more I find I don't know. I ave been lurking here for awhile and and learning quite a bit.
|
"the catcher gets the put out for any strikeouts (as it always has been)."
WRONG!!! On an UNCAUGHT third strike, the ONLY way the catcher gets a putout if if she/he tags the batter/runner. If F2 has to throw to 1B, whoever takes the throw gets the putout. Example: F2-F3. F2 gets assist, F3 gets put out. If B/R beats the throw, NO ONE, obviously, gets a put out. Pitcher is ALWAYS credited, and batter charged, with a strikeout, even on an uncaught third strike. Bob |
Pitcher gets credit
NFHS rules 9-6-4 Pitcher's Record
A strikeout is credited to the pitcher when a third strike is delivered to a bater, even though the batter might reach first base because the third strike is a wild pitch (FP) or is not caught (FP). It is also a strikeout if an attempted third strike bunt (FP) is an uncaught foul. :) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30am. |