The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/88075-asa-play.html)

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:25pm

ASA Play
 
Bottom of 7th, tied score. Runnerish R1 on 2B, 1 out. R1 is off with the pitch. Catcher is anxious and lunges forward across the plate in an effort to get the pitch quickly in an attempt to throw out R1.

The hurried throw gets past F5 and R1 scores the apparent winning run. How is the Catcher's Obstruction handled?

NCASAUmp Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:31pm

Offensive coach gets to choose: award batter 1st base and advance runners if forced, or take the result of the play.

okla21fan Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 822354)
Offensive coach gets to choose: award batter 1st base and advance runners if forced, or take the result of the play.

agree with the 'slow pitch' guy :D

Crabby_Bob Fri Feb 10, 2012 02:48am

Did the catcher prevent the batter from hitting the pitch? Not apparent from the OP. Game over. Otherwise, immediate dead ball by 8.2.D3.

NCASAUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 07:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 822391)
Did the catcher prevent the batter from hitting the pitch? Not apparent from the OP. Game over. Otherwise, immediate dead ball by 8.2.D3.

I took the OP to mean that the umpire's determination of Catcher's Obstruction was correct and without dispute.

And in ASA, 8-2-D-3 does not exist, nor would it apply in this case (since we don't call the BR out on catcher's OBS).

If you meant 8-1-D-3, then you bring up something I overlooked - the play should've been dead from the moment the catcher crossed home plate to hinder the batter.

Dutch Alex Fri Feb 10, 2012 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 822354)
Offensive coach gets to choose: award batter 1st base and advance runners if forced, or take the result of the play.

If there's a C.O. called by PU (and we can assume that seeing the OP), I agree
Otherwise, it's nothing than a bad throw and game over. Even here in Europe;)

EsqUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 07:38am

While obstruction is not established in the question, it is implied, otherwise there would be no question. There needs to be more details regarding exactly what the catcher does, because the catcher's actions will determine the ruling.

Typically, since there is obstruction and the batter did not safely advance to first base (in addition to all other runners advancing one base), the offensive team has the option to:

1: Take the result of the play - (a) ball or strike on the batter-I hope the umpire called the pitch; and (b) the runner scores; or

2: The batter is awarded 1st base. Because only runners who are forced to advance are awarded a base, the runner is returned to 2nd base (time of pitch).

However, if the catcher stepped on or across home plate without the ball (ball didn't arrive yet) and the batter is prevented from hitting the ball, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded 1st base and only runners who are forced to advance get to advance.

ASA scaled back the language of Rule 10 (without any note as to why) a few years ago. There was a time when Rule 10 stated that no umpire shall impose a penalty for a violation of the offending team would benefit from the imposing that violation. In this case, imposing a penalty (the penalty for catcher's obstruction), would benefit the offending team. There is at least an argument that the penalty should not be imposed at all. That protective rule seems to have escaped the newer rule books though.

Crabby_Bob Fri Feb 10, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 822433)
...
If you meant 8-1-D-3

I did. It was late.

SRW Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:28am

Some people must get paid by the word to post on this forum.

EsqUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 822463)
Some people must get paid by the word to post on this forum.

That was a valuable post.

NCASAUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 822463)
Some people must get paid by the word to post on this forum.

You'd think they'd eventually get the hint...

tcannizzo Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:04am

Play nice :cool:

EsqUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 822354)
Offensive coach gets to choose: award batter 1st base and advance runners if forced, or take the result of the play.

Are you realizing yet that your ruling is most likely wrong based on how the play was worded? That there is no option if the batter is prevented from hitting the ball because the catcher stepped out and obstructed?

Worry less about the length of my responses and more about the accuracy of your own.

NCASAUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 822486)
Are you realizing yet that your ruling is most likely wrong based on how the play was worded? That there is no option if the batter is prevented from hitting the ball because the catcher stepped out and obstructed?

Worry less about the length of my responses and more about the accuracy of your own.

And you should read all responses, including my followup in which I stated that I'd mistakenly overlooked this component.

I don't care about the length of your responses. I do, however, worry about your attitude towards the regulars here.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 822391)
Did the catcher prevent the batter from hitting the pitch? Not apparent from the OP. Game over. Otherwise, immediate dead ball by 8.2.D3.

Well, trying not to be too wordy, I was confident that "lunges forward across the plate" from a catcher's position would pretty much give the image that the batter would not get the opportunity to hit the ball.

Guess I was wrong. ;) :D

youngump Fri Feb 10, 2012 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 822435)
ASA scaled back the language of Rule 10 (without any note as to why) a few years ago. There was a time when Rule 10 stated that no umpire shall impose a penalty for a violation of the offending team would benefit from the imposing that violation. In this case, imposing a penalty (the penalty for catcher's obstruction), would benefit the offending team. There is at least an argument that the penalty should not be imposed at all. That protective rule seems to have escaped the newer rule books though.

Without regard to what everyone else is telling you, which you should listen to, you're also wrong on this. Since the ball became dead as soon as the violation occurred not imposing the penalty would involve returning the runner to first. Once the dead ball bell rings, you can't unring it to see what happened after it became dead (at least as far as live ball action is concerned).

EsqUmp Fri Feb 10, 2012 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 822606)
Without regard to what everyone else is telling you, which you should listen to, you're also wrong on this. Since the ball became dead as soon as the violation occurred not imposing the penalty would involve returning the runner to first. Once the dead ball bell rings, you can't unring it to see what happened after it became dead (at least as far as live ball action is concerned).

I threw that out there for consideration. It's a rule that is often overlooked. The play wasn't overly specific. We don't know what the umpires actually called. It is something to at least contemplate depending on the play that developed. If a "normal" catcher's obstruction took place, this could come into play.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 12, 2012 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 822433)
If you meant 8-1-D-3, then you bring up something I overlooked - the play should've been dead from the moment the catcher crossed home plate to hinder the batter.

That's the part I think may need to be adjusted. Don't understand why this would need to be a dead ball.

But if it is going to be a dead ball, I like the NCAA's effect which awards a base to all runners, not just those forced. That would account for any OBS where a runner not forced being returned to a base if attempting to steal on the play and the special rule (8.1.D.4) for CO in an attempted squeeze play.

NCASAUmp Sun Feb 12, 2012 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 823098)
That's the part I think may need to be adjusted. Don't understand why this would need to be a dead ball.

But if it is going to be a dead ball, I like the NCAA's effect which awards a base to all runners, not just those forced. That would account for any OBS where a runner not forced being returned to a base if attempting to steal on the play and the special rule (8.1.D.4) for CO in an attempted squeeze play.

I agree. I see no reason why we shouldn't let this play out (once the rule changes, of course). Runners can certainly still score, and the coach may choose the result of the play rather than take the award. Just seems to make the most sense (thus, my initial answer).

x-tremeump Mon Feb 13, 2012 08:36pm

xtreamump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 822503)
And you should read all responses, including my followup in which I stated that I'd mistakenly overlooked this component.

I don't care about the length of your responses. I do, however, worry about your attitude towards the regulars here.

The regulars on here are mabee wrong sometimes ? Change is good.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtreamump (Post 823598)
The regulars on here are mabee wrong sometimes ? Change is good.

so is spell check

x-tremeump Tue Feb 14, 2012 09:26am

xtreamump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 823634)
so is spell check

All of your posts, I agree with this one.

NCASAUmp Tue Feb 14, 2012 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtreamump (Post 823598)
The regulars on here are mabee wrong sometimes ? Change is good.

It happens, but it's extremely rare. Stick around, and you'll see.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1