The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2003, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
But if you are going to use "moves to the ball" as a disqualifying criteria, than 1/2" movement says that it is not a foul tip, but a caught line drive.
Technically, perhaps correct, but realistically, as you observe, you aren't going to see it, and if you do, these are movements that fall well within catching the pitch.

What the definition boils down to, for me, is ... was the catcher making a play on the batted ball?

Quote:
And, Baseball doesn't use that dam*ed "not higher than the head" qualifier. It seems as though Softball (NFHS or ASA) is confused when all it needs is the simpler Baseball definition.
I don't really give a horse's patoot what baseball does. My only issue with the "not higher than the batter's head" phrase is too many people (coaches, mostly, but also fans and some umpires) view this requirement as the be-all and end-all of the definition. IOW, if it is not higher than the batter's head, then it must be a foul tip. Baloney.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1