The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2003, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
I'm not sure about this one Sam. I think you are confusing the interference with the ball having passed one fielder and anther having opportunity to field the ball with the runner touching that ball between the two fielders. AND I DON'T BELIEVE THIS INCLUDES A DEFLECTED BALL.

The defense, F3, had its opportunity and muffed it. I'm leaning towards obstruction (given no intention to create a collision on the part of the runner) but am going to do a little research to justify my position.

I didn't find anything concrete... does ASA have a specific ruling for this situation?

FED Rule 8-6-10a says The runner is out when: the runner interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball. I would not consider this a batted ball after it has been deflected.

JMHO
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1